Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Fabulous recipe! And not at all cake-like. I followed the recipe precisely (except for no nuts)and got great fudgy brownies. I think folks are getting cakey results when they add an egg or use some liquid other than the oil, as that will change the texture of any baked product. The batter is very, very dry - almost too dry to call a batter. But that's how it's supposed to be, the zucchini will shed it's moisture during the baking and you'll get superb brownies!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
GREAT recipe Marian!! I must say that I was VERY skeptical of these not only because of the zucchini/no egg, but because after I mixed the ingredients, they looked well, I'll just say..less than desirable (my zucchini may have been a bit "dry"). I had to "press" them into the dish, not "pour" so I was a bit concerned. The end result was FANTASTIC, not to mention a great way to sneak in zucchini, the kids had NO clue that it was even there! I left out the nuts, baby has an allergy, and added 1/2 cup of choc. chips. Since there weren't any eggs either (allergy) he was able to enjoy! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, we LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
486 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
So good!!!!! The batter will not be dry after you add the zucchini. The moisture comes from the zucchini. Do not add an egg if you want a moist, fudgy brownie. If you add an egg you will get a cake. I don't understand those that change the recipe and then give a bad rating. The only change I made is that I only added 1/4 cup nuts. Mine were done at 20 minutes. The frosting is excellent but they really don't need it. Thanks so much!!! A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Has a very slight veggie-ish aftertaste, but otherwise fantastic. And like other reviewers have confirmed, it is a tad cake-like, (no I did not add an egg, which would have made it even more cakey) but in a very moist, gooey way. As long as you underbake it slightly, you should be fine. Use cocoa powder instead of flour for dusting the greased pan, that way you won't get a whitish, floury outside. Substituting applesauce for most of the oil worked out great - the brownies were still moist and tender. I grated the zucchini superfine so as not to have it "chunky". My little brother will never know he's eating zucchini and applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
These are so moist and flavorful! I used pureed prunes (baby food) instead of oil, and they turned out great -- and even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I have to say that I thought this recipie sounded downright disgusting. Zucchini in BROWNIES?! I made it just for the fun of it to see what would happen. Oh my gosh these were the BEST brownies I have ever had. I'll never make brownies without zucchini again! YUMMMMMMMY! This was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Adding the 2 eggs makes this more like a very dense cake than brownies. Next time I'll leave them out. Also will try using a lighter oil or maybe applesauce, as we could taste the oil. Overall it had a nice flavor, and there was no way to tell there is zucchini in this cake! That's a plus! This frosting went well with this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
** An egg missing is NOT a mistake.** I've used this recipe for quite a few years after published here and am here once more to write it down again. The batter is dry to start, because the zucchini is the moisture. The batter will be quite dry when you put it into the pan, but if you followed the directions....it will bake perfect. It will be a chewy brownie if you do it this way. To make it easier, I grate or puree my zucchini FIRST to let it sit for a while to "sweat". This step allows the moisture to be released from the zucchini. Then I add the zucchini(moisture & all)to the dry ingredients mix. It won't be dry at all...it will resemble a cake batter, and the result a bit more cake like brownie, but still divine. This recipe is very easy & great way to use up extra summer squash ( yellow, crockneck, italian, mexican..etc...) from the garden. I freeze grated summer squash in 2 cup portions so I have it in the winter when I want these. I just pull out a container to thaw & ready to go....further extending my garden harvest. delicious :) I usually reduce the sugar to around 1 - 1 1/4 cup as my preference... :)enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I was skeptical when a friend suggested the recipe, but the end result was fantastic! They are chewy and fudgy - everything you want from a brownie and more (less calories, get to use up garden zucchini)! I omitted the walnuts and added peanut butter morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Wonderful! Excellent! Delicious! So moist and no indication there is anything unusual about this recipe. The texture is more like a moist cake than brownies - which I like very much. It is so rich that I just sprinkled chocolate chips over it as it came out of the oven. Very highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States