Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I can't imagine myself making these again. What a weird taste. Neither my husband nor I really liked them. . . I don't really understand the rave reviews--these are definitely not traditional brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it is excellent! I add 3/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, or 3/4 cup mini-chocolate chips together with 3/4 cup dried cranberries. For my own family I add (1) cup of rough chopped walnuts. (We have friends with an allergy to nuts and on that occasion I omit the nuts.) I also make a butter cream chocolate frosting to top it off. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I fixed these brownies today and my husband can't believe how great they taste. I would fix these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
made these yesterday followed exactly and what a huge hit! sooo moist and delishish thank you for such an awesome recipe - with all the zucchini i need to use i am so glad i tried this new great recipe - a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Valckx
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I, like many other reviewers, was surprised by how dry the batter was. I initially used 1 cup of shredded zucchini and 1 cup of shredded yellow squash (ran out of zucchini), but because the batter didn't seem wet enough to incorporate all of the dry ingredients, I added another cup of yellow squash. The texture ended up perfectly moist for a cake, not dense like a brownie (probably due to adding the extra moisture). I was surprised that it wasn't very sweet and chocolatey though. In fact, it was so bland, I knew it couldn't stand alone. I didn't love the idea of chocolate frosting, so I made some German chocolate cake frosting and that made a great difference. But for a zucchini chocolate cake I prefer Chocolate Zucchini Cake III from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These were a HIT! I followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out GREAT! No one even suspected there was something HEALTHY hidden inside! :) The frosting is awesome too! Definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made these for game day. They were easy to make. Gooey, chewy, and rich in taste. I will make them again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Took these to a life group nod then to work. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Jurgens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is a nice recipe for using zucchini. It is really important to make sure to stir the batter really well to incorporate the zucchini since it and the oil are the only moisture in the recipe. Next time I will add a bit more (pack my measuring cup) zucchini as some of my brownies were a little dry on the edges. Tasted like cake mix in places and I needed to stir it more or add more zucchini. Either way I will make them again. Frosting is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made the recipe just as it was with 1 exception. I had an over-abundance of cucumbers, so I used them instead of zucchini. I just made sure to drain them after shredding because they are a lot wetter than the squash. It worked great, and tasted good. My sons loved them, and my dad never noticed there were cucumbers in them. I have substituted cucumbers for zucchini in recipes for years when I had a lot. Always seems to work well. Yellow summer squash would probably work well in this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirin Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States