Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I wanted to make a brownie recipe and I got CAKE. I followed this recipe precisely and there is nothing brownie like but the taste. Even the topping was what you would put on a cake, no one thought these were brownies. The only thing I can think of is that I should not have added the liquid from the zucchini after shredding it, but since there were no instructions saying to do other wise, I did not know. For taste I gave it one extra star, it was still good, but since it was no where near being brownie like, I am not giving it a good review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
These brownies are so good! I followed the recipe exactly & they did turn out a little cake like, but the flavor & moistness is perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
My new favorite! I prepared as recipe states except I didn't add nuts. Some reviewers had noted the batter was very dry- this was not so in my case. It was like normal brownie batter- thicker than cake batter, but still able to pour into the pan with some assistance from a spoon. I think this occurred for 2 reasons: #1, I used (part of) a large zucchini, rather than a few small ones. Thus, the majority of the zucchini in the batter was the pulp, which is where the moisture will be found, rather than the skin. #2, I really packed it in, with the back of a spoon, much like you would pack brown sugar, to make sure I had 2 full cups. The result was delicious- thick and fudgy. Some reviewers noted the brownies were more "cake like." I suppose this could be true in the sense that they are not as oily as brownies typically are. I guess I would say, if you are going to compare it to a cake, it would be a really dense, moist cake... which is basically what a brownie is!!! The only problem I had, and will do differently in the future, is to bake it as recommended in a 9x13 pan. I baked it in a 9x9 square because we like really thick brownies. But I never got the center to completely bake. I had to cut out one edge to expose it, and then put it back in the oven. My mistake; I assumed like with regular brownie recipes, you could put it in a smaller pan and simply cook for longer. But had I baked any longer, the edges would have dried out as they were already done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrittDeet68W
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My frosting turned out slightly runny. But I live up at altitude so I thought maybe that had something to do with it. Does anybody have an idea how to make it thicker? My brownies are also cake-like. The batter was definitely dry like it was suppose to be until I added the zucchini. They're just real fluffy, delicious, but fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittDeet68W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Everyone loved these brownies. The frosting is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I can't believe I waited so long to try these delicious brownies! They didn't last 24 hours at my house. I always reduce sugar by half and swap applesauce for oil - always. So moist and sweet and yummy! I'll never buy mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I thought I had really messed it up (my batter was thick and lumpy) but I went ahead and baked it...........they were FABULOUS! I used some applesauce in place of some of the oil, and the brownies turned out very fudgy... thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great flavor and loved the icing 9/1/2013 Dennis's Labor Day gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
wow fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,039) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States