Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by alyssalovesfood
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I used a little less than one cup of sugar and used applesauce instead of the oil. I made them bite size by baking them in mini muffin pans. Really great thanks for the recipe! Follow me on Instagram at ahcoutry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These are delicious, but I wouldn't classify them as brownies. With the frosting, they taste more like a Texas sheet cake. I used zucchini from my garden that I had shredded in 2 cup portion sizes, then vacuumed packed and froze. Used the thawed bag with all the liquid. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Yum! I loved these and my extremely picky brothers did too! Even after I told them the secret ingredient. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
i made it a little healthier. i used 1/2 unbleached white flour, 1/4 whole wheat flour, and 1/4 almond flour. i only put 1/2 cup brown sugar (that's sweet enough for me and my family). i shredded the zucchini very fine, so, you can't see it in the brownies. in the frosting, i also used 1/2 cup maple/agave and used oil instead of margarine. the brownies came out delicious! the frosting added a lot (and were healthier than usual). yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Fudgy and delicious! I made only minor changes/additions: First of all, I took the advice of another reviewer and made the zucchini finer in the food processor after shredding it with a cheese grater; I added 3 Tbs. strong brewed coffee (cooled) and a good squeeze of Hershey's chocolate syrup to the batter; and finally, I made 1 1/2 x the frosting recipe, which turned out to be just perfect for the 13 x 9 pan of brownies. I also added a couple of tablespoons of the coffee to the frosting mixture as well. This, I feel, really intensified the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought it was really good, but before the brownies had a few hours to rest, I definitely tasted the zucchini. Four hours later all I tasted was yummyness. I also doubled the icing because I thought it was more of a glaze and made it sweeter. Finally for color and texture and to up the fun factor, I topped it with milk and white chocolate chips. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing! We love brownies in our house and for a while I was making brainy brownies which were great only because my husband and I didn't go near them! I was looking for ways to use up zucchini from the garden as I'm the only one that likes z. bread. Anyway, these brownies are amazing, moist and totally decadent. There is no taste or texture from the zucchini, I think it just moistens the brownie considerably. I've made it several times and I would say this is between a cake and a chewy brownie, not super dense but super moist. Not sure how some people get a dry brownie out of this. It doesn't seem possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
No one believed me when I told them zucchini was in this the were good but really gooey and rich I will make but not as frequent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was totally ready to give this a lower rating. Wasn't fond of the thick, dry batter (and I didn't even add the nuts), but I love the idea of zucchini in desserts, so I finshed the batch. Mine baked much slower tho, at least 45 minutes! I LOVE them, and will make them again. Co-workers raved, even after finding out about the secret ingredient! I used my go-to fudge frosting from the site, "brownie frosting" - super simple, works every time. Thanks for this one, I'll be visiting again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I was extremely skeptical because the batter was incredibly dry, but I followed the recipe almost exactly as it is and the results were perfect. The only things I did differently was that I used a gluten free flour blend (2 parts sweet sorghum flour, 2 parts tapioca flour, 1 part millet flour with about 1/4 t xantham gum) in place of all-purpose flour, and I used almond milk and Earth Balance in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States