Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
great with raisins. i used 2 cups unbleached all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat.. still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
EXCELLENT. I made this and took it up to the Moose Club a few times and the women there raved about it and they all wanted the recipe. And most of them can cook quite well. Made exactly as per the recipe. Only one person said it was too sweet so I tried with 1/2 of the sugar replaced with Splenda. It was good like that too. Am going to try with raisins instead of the chocoate chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Okay, I always get a wee-bit annoyed when people give five stars to a recipe, yet change the heck out of it. BUT...let me share my changes. My daughter is away at college and she begged me to make her some chocolate chip cookies. Oh wait. No, zucchini bread. Mmm. Let me see what I can find. Thus I stumbled on this. Went to the store and got the zucchini and started the recipe. My first change was to swap out one cup of cake flour for the AP just for the heck of it. I used 1-3/4 cups of sugar and 3/4 cups of sour cream. And, added a teaspoon of vanilla. I also sqeezed the moisture out of the zucchini, but the batter was still too moist. I added an additional 1/4 cup of flour. Consistency was perfect. Then to add the chocolate chips. Wups, forgot to get them at the store. It's a few days before Halloween and of course, I have lots of candy. So I "borrowed" ten bars of Nestle Crunch and chopped them up and added them to the batter. Sixty-five minutes in the oven. Perfect texture. And absolutely WONDERFUL. A tad sweet for my personal tastes, but for my sugar-monger college-aged daughter, this will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
After reading other reviews I adjusted to: 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup sour cream. I also didn't add the chocolate chips because I didn't have any. I would make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is not a bad recipe at all, but it just didn't wow me, either. For me, the baking time was right on. It was a surprisingly wet batter, so I think that's why. I think that was because I did not strain out the zucchini, unlike some other folks per their comments. Our family likes this bread, but no one was totally sold on the chocolate chips, plus they all sunk to the bottom. (Afterward, I vaguely remembered a tip that if you are going to put chocolate chips in a quick bread or thinner-type batter that you shake the chocolate chips in about 1/4 cup flour and that will help them keep from sinking.) I still think it could use a little more spice, maybe some nutmeg and clove or something, in my non-professional opinion. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Give it a try! See what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
One of the best zucchini bread recipes I've had. I did decrease the sugar a bit (still plenty sweet) and substituted apple sauce for half of the oil and used 1/4 whole wheat flour. Often times when I do this, quick breads can be a little dry, but this was still fabulous. Oh and I added a teaspoon or two of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This recipe is delicious. I added some chopped walnuts. I baked it for 55 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was great! I used Chocolate Chunks instead of chips and cut the sugar by half cup. I've never made zucchini bread - I usually make banana breads. So, this was a bit on the dry side compared to what I'm used to ...not sure if it was something I did or if that is just how a zucchini bread is in comparison. Either way -- it was a big hit with my family and I loved it with my coffee this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'm enjoying a warm piece of this delicious bread now! I used this recipe as a starting point, and made some adjustments, 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract. Left out cinnamon and chocolate chips. It turned out really moist and flavorful! Lemon and zucchini are a great compliment to each other, who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am known for my zucchini bread, so I always veer from new recipes, but I always love the sour cream in breads because it makes things so moist so I tried it. It was delicious! I think my bread is slightly more flavorful, but this is more moist at first! I did 1/2 of the oil with applesauce and peanut butter chips for the chocolate chips. Also, we are at a higher altitude and the cook time was still cut down to 25 minutes uncovered and 35 min. covered with tin foil! (60 min. total)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States