Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Being my first zucchini bread try, I skipped the chocolate chips. Next time I will do one loaf with and one without. I also took the lead of a few others and did 1/2 cup apple sauce and 1/2 oil. I think I also did the sugar 1/2 white and 1/2 brown since I really like brown sugar. It turned out fantastic! I was able to give away a few pieces away before I ate it all but if I had had more zucchini on hand I would have made a second batch. The sour cream really moistens and adds just the right flavor. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I omitted the Chocolate chips and substituted applesauce for oil. Best Zucchini Bread I've ever had. Also used reduced fat sour cream. Healthier and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Exceptional flavor--a keeper. I would recommend several things: be sure to grease and flour the pans well otherwise the loaf will crack in half coming out of the pan as mine did! Secondly, the chocolate chips sink to the bottom of the loaf. To prevent this, I tossed them in flour before lightly folding into the bread dough, and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela B.
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very good. I took an idea from another zucchini bread recipe and added cocoa. For the two loaves I added 6 tbsp. of unsweetened cocoa. It was very good and moist. I added the cocoa to half the batter and then poured half the cocoa batter in each pan and did the same with the plain batter. You can take a utensil to make is marbled if you like. EDITED to add: Also made this with summer squash this summer. I still do the cocoa adding too, since we love chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Dry and bland. was only worth eating in heated slices with lots of butter. But I still tasted mostly butter. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe is awesome. Used 2c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. white and unsweetened applesauce also omitted sugar and used splenda to accomadate diabetics in family. omitted chocolate and used Hershey's cinnamon chips, and added a dash of nutmeg and ginger. Also tossed in a handful of chopped cashews. Very moist and flavorful. Family who doesn't norally eat zucchinni just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Awesome recipe, even my picky kids loved it. the only thing i did different was leave out the nuts, add sweetened cranberries and only cooked it for a hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very, very yummy! My husband agreed. Although, I accidentally altered the recipe. I halved it for just one loaf and added 1/4t. salt (both intentional adjustments), but then failed to half the amount of sour cream. It baked so beautifully and was so tasty that now I'm afraid to make it with the listed amount! But I may just so that I'll know the difference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this with no alterations to the original recipe. It came out a little dry and cakey which I should've seen coming when I saw how thick the batter turned out. It also had almost no zucchini taste to it. Next time I think I will try to put 3 cups of zucchini instead of 2 like the recipe lists. Good flavor overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Really good BUT I thought it was a little too sweet. Next time I will cut back sugar maybe 1/2 cup. I thought the choc chips were essential. Only change I made was unsweetened apple sauce instead of oil. My husband says 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States