Zucchini Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is my first time making a zucchini bread. I received an GINORMOUS zucchini from a friend's home garden. There was NO way I would have been able to eat this zucchini without it going bad. I googled "moist zucchini bread" and this was the first recipe in my search. Glad that the recipe called for 2 loaves because I will provide my friend with a loaf. He doesn't like any nuts, so I used chocolate chips in its place. For the bread, I used 3 cups of grated zucchini, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, and I found that it took longer to bake. (approximately 30 minutes longer & not sure if that was because of the whole wheat flour). Bread came out VERY moist. After reading the reviews, I agree that MaryKlaire's crumbly brown sugar topping is just what this bread needed. The bread was very good without it, but the topping took the bread from yummy to WOW! I used pecans instead of walnuts. The next time I make it, I will use nuts in the bread too and thinking about adding raisins (my husband's suggestion). I will also add a tad bit more butter to the crunch topping. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I just tried your recipe and made 4 loaves. Excellent. When I cut a slice it doesn't crumble into pieces, even when I cut very thin slices. It taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
used one half oil and replaced the other with applesauce 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1 1/4 cup white used pecans and baked in a tube pan 65 min. It came out perfect, excellent flavor and texture. Not overly sweet just right. Thinking of trying a maple glaze over the top next time...I will be making this again as I can't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My husband and I LOVE this recipe!! I also added the crumbly topping and it was fabulous!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is the best zucchini bread around, hands down. Beats my grandmas, even. I make it as written, but sometimes I substitute applesauce for 1/2 the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizrude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antwerp, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Definitely the best zucchini bread recipe I have ever made. The kids love it and I can't wait to make it again but I eat so much of it when I make it that I try to give myself some time in between! (smile) I substituted apple sauce for 1/2 the vegetable oil, organic cane sugar for white sugar, and whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. I also eliminated the walnuts. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I used the ideas other reviewers had suggested...an extra cup of zuchhini and crumble topping. Considering how much zuchhini I have from my garden I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueBeeDoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
easy way to use fresh zucchini! so good warm with reduced fat cream cheese and a nice cup of green tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Turned out well... followed the suggestion of adding another cup of zucchini and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Add more zing and more zucchini flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I have tried making both the original recipe and a modified lighter version based on some of the reviewers comments. Both were absolutely delicious but I was surprised to find that my family liked the lighter version more than the original. I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/2 cup oil (instead of 1 cup oil), 3 cups of zucchini (instead of 2 cups) with some of the liquid squeezed out using a colander and 1-1/2 cups of sugar (instead of 2 cups). Both loaves were gone in no time and they are already asking for more. Great recipe either way you make it. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States