Zucchini Boats on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Made theese for the first time tonight, good but not outstanding. Will make again with modifications! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I have made these twice now and let me just say they are amazing!! My bf is kind of picky about textures (hates mushy or squishy/slimy) and he LOVES these. They come out soft but the different textures from the filling helpl keep it from being mushy and or slimy. (try making an individual boat of foil around the bottom and sides leaving the top exposed on each one, then open up the foil to more of a little foil plate part way thru cooking. it helps give the top a crisp grilled texture.) They are really easy and a great way to jazz up eating your veggies. I need to remember to make them more often! I have made them once using what I had and once following the recipe pretty closely. (I cooked the zuckes in the microwave and added a little green bell pepper, used panko breadcrumbs not bread, and no bacon, but he wished I did use it.) Oh my Goodness. They are so good if you use the peppers the recipe suggests, a little bit of heat in there sets all of the vegetable flavor alive! I highly recommend making these, and try filling them with whatever you or your family like! I am going to try making them again stuffing them with some cooked hot italian sausage.. Mm now I am hungry from thinking about them! Good Luck and Happy Cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Good side dish but a little time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I love these. They are spicy and super easy. As a bonus, they actually get my husband to eat vegetables. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great way to get veggies in the little ones! I chose not to cook the zucchini before filling so that they would be a bit firmer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We love veggie boats, this is a good recipe, yes drain the pulp I mixed mushrooms, red onion, fresh cooked pepper bacon crumbles, fresh basil, cheddar cheese, wheat bread torn, I added a thin spread of butter substitute to the inside of the boats, then drizzled a littel of the bacon drippings on the boats after assembled. Very good, Will fix again, so versatile! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccate1234

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I never had these before until I saw this recipe. It was great! Even my kids ate them up with no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvaughn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very good! Too bad I put a little too much hot peppers for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
The filling was pretty good but these were not outstanding. Seemed like alot of work for ok flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
The first time I made these I followed the recipe as written and it was delish - definitely worth making. I don't think it's fair to change a recipe up and then rate it. The second time I made it I changed it in a couple of ways. I cut off the stem end and microwaved the whole zucchini for 4 minutes and let it cool a few before slicing it in half and scooping out the middle. Then I added Italian seasoned bread crumbs, red onion, garlic, cheese, red pepper flakes, and Italian sausage to it, along with the tomato in the recipe. I cooked it in the toaster oven at 400 for about 15 minutes and it was crispy on top, cooked through and fantastic. I think this basic recipe is a wonderful canvas to explore with. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States