Zucchini Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I was skeptical because of the amount of onion/veggies in here, but "wow" is all I can say! These were delicious (thanks bacon, haha). I'm not sure what size mini pan the recipe creator used, but I ended up with about 36 minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very tasty, both hot and cold. I got 24 mini-muffin-sized bites instead of 12. I used 1-1/2 small zucchinis instead of 1 large, and replaced some of the parmesan (about 1/4 cup) with shredded monterey jack cheese. I added a clove of garlic to the pan with the onions and added a pinch of paprika to the mixture, and they turned out quite flavorful. Next time I may add a bit of chili powder to spice them up, but they were great as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I didn't have self-rising flour but you can make your own. For ONE cup of all-purpose flour, add 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadianMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These are delicious. They are a great snack by themselves, but would also be great with soup or chili. I made half a batch, filled the muffin cups full, and got 9 muffins. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were amazing!! I didn't have the self rising flour so I made my own from Canadian Mama suggestion :) I didn't have large zucchinis so I used two small ones, 2 carrots, real bacon bits, 1/2 and 1/2 cream and bacon drippings instead of olive oil. I made them to go with soup for lunch and my 2 and 5 yr olds didn't even touch the soup, just the "muffins" ;) I also made them in the reg size muffin cups and it made a full dozen. There's only one left for my husband to try, and they came out of the oven an hour ago lol. I think I may try to double or triple the batch and freeze them for quick breakfasts or to go with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These are fantastic little nutrient-packed snacks that are great for on the go. Most of their density is attributed to the vegetables (I subbed fresh basil and corn for the bacon), but they also pack a punch of protein and iron from the eggs as well as a modest amount of carbs from the flour (I subbed chickpea flour and baking powder for the self-rising flour). I also subbed spicy chili monterey jack for the parmesan. I ended up adding about an entire cup of flour to make them less quiche-like, although I'm sure they'd be great as is. Maybe not a great side for pasta, but definitely the ideal snack or breakfast/brunch item. These are a new staple for me, and they're so versatile you could substitute any vegetable or use any combination of ingredients! How about ground beef instead of bacon? Or mushrooms instead of the carrot? Mini broccoli florets instead of the zucchini? This is my new favourite recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were a big hit! Added about 3 more strips of chopped bacon, grated a half of a squash with the veggies, 2 carrots instead of 1, 2 cloves of garlic chopped, added 1/3 cup of shredded cheddar cheese, 1/2 tsp. chilli powder, and 1/2 tsp. of oregano. My mom and little brother ate these up and the aroma was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasharenae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These are very tasty and were very easy to make. I doubled the recipe (everything except the onion because my kids don't love onion) and it made about 42 mini muffins. I substituted 2% evaporated milk for the heavy cream and I used a mix of cheddar and parmesan for the cheese. I also sauteed some minced garlic with the veggies and added some dried Italian seasoning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Yummy! Versatile recipe, add whatever grated/chopped up veggies &/or cheeses that you want to the mix. You don't have to use a muffin tray; they bake up just as nicely if you drop rounded spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet. I got 18 servings out of this recipe. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
this recipe needs a bit more time in the oven, and it makes way more almost double what it says...I ended up with 24 minis. But very delicious...and the amount of eggs made enough protein to go along with our potato leek soup we had with it. Can add what ever else in terms of seasoning..although I just added some garlic powder and paprika ...kept them simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States