Zucchini Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These are very tasty and were very easy to make. I doubled the recipe (everything except the onion because my kids don't love onion) and it made about 42 mini muffins. I substituted 2% evaporated milk for the heavy cream and I used a mix of cheddar and parmesan for the cheese. I also sauteed some minced garlic with the veggies and added some dried Italian seasoning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were a big hit! Added about 3 more strips of chopped bacon, grated a half of a squash with the veggies, 2 carrots instead of 1, 2 cloves of garlic chopped, added 1/3 cup of shredded cheddar cheese, 1/2 tsp. chilli powder, and 1/2 tsp. of oregano. My mom and little brother ate these up and the aroma was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasharenae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These are fantastic little nutrient-packed snacks that are great for on the go. Most of their density is attributed to the vegetables (I subbed fresh basil and corn for the bacon), but they also pack a punch of protein and iron from the eggs as well as a modest amount of carbs from the flour (I subbed chickpea flour and baking powder for the self-rising flour). I also subbed spicy chili monterey jack for the parmesan. I ended up adding about an entire cup of flour to make them less quiche-like, although I'm sure they'd be great as is. Maybe not a great side for pasta, but definitely the ideal snack or breakfast/brunch item. These are a new staple for me, and they're so versatile you could substitute any vegetable or use any combination of ingredients! How about ground beef instead of bacon? Or mushrooms instead of the carrot? Mini broccoli florets instead of the zucchini? This is my new favourite recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were amazing!! I didn't have the self rising flour so I made my own from Canadian Mama suggestion :) I didn't have large zucchinis so I used two small ones, 2 carrots, real bacon bits, 1/2 and 1/2 cream and bacon drippings instead of olive oil. I made them to go with soup for lunch and my 2 and 5 yr olds didn't even touch the soup, just the "muffins" ;) I also made them in the reg size muffin cups and it made a full dozen. There's only one left for my husband to try, and they came out of the oven an hour ago lol. I think I may try to double or triple the batch and freeze them for quick breakfasts or to go with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed these. I always find it difficult, though, to know exactly how much zucchini to use in a recipe like this. What is one large zucchini? I used 2 small ones, but probably should have used one more. I cooked them for 20 minutes but had trouble getting them out of the pan. I think another 5 minutes would have been better. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These are AWESOME, my 4 year old twins gobbled them up and I ate even more. I did add more Veg so popped in an extra egg, flour and cheese. Highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I made this recipe as written, adding a dash or 2 of hot sauce, two time. We liked them. But then it came time to shake them up a bit. The third time I made them I didn't use the olive oil but cooked the bacon first and then sauted the onion and the clove of garlic that I added in the drippings. I also used fat free 1/2 &1/2 instead of the cream. I threw in 2 T. of canned jalapeno peppers chopped and my splash of hot sauce. I also only used 1/2 cup parm and subbed in a 1/2 cup monterey jack cheese. Wow! We gobbled them up and you don't miss the fat from the missing olive oil and heavy cream. Oh Yeah on 1/2 the batch I topped them with more jack cheese. Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These weren't bad! My husband said they were "alright". I cooked mine for 15 minutes in a gas stove. Next time I think I'll cook them for 20. They needed more time to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Easy and quite tasty. I had about a cup and a half of zucchini and used 2 eggs. My toddler said "yummy!" They aren't as good cold as they are warm, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These were so easy to make and absolutley delicious!! My family ate these up in ten minutes. This recipe is a keeper.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States