Zucchini Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I didn't have self-rising flour but you can make your own. For ONE cup of all-purpose flour, add 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadianMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Diana trusted me, and I trusted the AR peeps. We made these to christen the new mini-muffin pan we bought. This pan has 24 holes, so we made a batch of 24 and then a batch of 6. We thought they were good, and understand the reviews left here. I agree that this is a BASIS recipe and is wide-open to tweaks and taste chnages - like add chilli, and/or garlic, use other cheeses etc etc etc. But they should carry a warning ... we nibbled these as we chatted over a glass of wine and were shocked toi find that 18 had disappeared. And then we remembered the second batch still in the oven! They weren't burnt but severely sun-tanned. And we actually thought that they just might even have tasted better. Slightly thicker outer skin, but the cheese came though much more strongly! I will be making these often. And by the way, after consuming 18 between us, we weren't hungry any more, so we put all the stuff for dinner back into the fridge for use today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I omitted the oil and just sauteed the onions carrots in the bacon drippings. It seemed a little bland when I tasted the batter, so I added some garlic powder and a little oregano to give it a little zing. This lend itself to all sorts of variations. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very tasty, both hot and cold. I got 24 mini-muffin-sized bites instead of 12. I used 1-1/2 small zucchinis instead of 1 large, and replaced some of the parmesan (about 1/4 cup) with shredded monterey jack cheese. I added a clove of garlic to the pan with the onions and added a pinch of paprika to the mixture, and they turned out quite flavorful. Next time I may add a bit of chili powder to spice them up, but they were great as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Loved this recipe. My husband loved it also, which is important to us wives. I had too much salt because I forgot that self-rising flour and the grated cheese(I use the fresh cheese not the shaker) had salt in them, but other that that - perfect. It put me in the mind of quiche! Thanks for the recipe. Great way to use up all of that garden produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I was skeptical because of the amount of onion/veggies in here, but "wow" is all I can say! These were delicious (thanks bacon, haha). I'm not sure what size mini pan the recipe creator used, but I ended up with about 36 minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These are delicious. They are a great snack by themselves, but would also be great with soup or chili. I made half a batch, filled the muffin cups full, and got 9 muffins. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These weren't bad! My husband said they were "alright". I cooked mine for 15 minutes in a gas stove. Next time I think I'll cook them for 20. They needed more time to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My family and I just didn't like them. They weren't terrible, just not to our liking. They might be good for an early brunch because they tasted really eggy to me. Sorry this is the first low review I've written, I just don't want someone to depend on them for something to go with dinner the way I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Yummy! Versatile recipe, add whatever grated/chopped up veggies &/or cheeses that you want to the mix. You don't have to use a muffin tray; they bake up just as nicely if you drop rounded spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet. I got 18 servings out of this recipe. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States