Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Very moist, very easy. Everyone loves it. The frosting was too sweet for me the first day but seemed to tone down a lot the following day. Definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These were excellent. I added some spices and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was a great "starter" recipe! I added nutmeg, cinnamon and some applesauce and it tastes like a great, moist breakfast cake! The grownups love it can't see why the kids won't too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
These were great! I added nuts the 2nd time I made them. The frosting was a bit to buttery for my family so I decreased the butter and increased the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good recipe, although I have to say I would call this Zucchnini Cake due to the texture. To me, bars are more chewy. That being said, I have had rave reviews on this recipe. My family loved the first batch, so I made another to take to a picnic and they were a hit there too. I tried adding some spice to the second batch like some users recomended, but it didn't seem to make a big difference in the taste - maybe I didn't add enough. However, I like the taste of the original recipe anyway - I think if you add too much spice it would overwhelm the taste of the batter. The frosting was a little too sweet for me, so in the second batch I added the confectioners sugar a little at a time and tasted as I went along - I ended up using far less than what was called for, I'd say about half. The second batch of icing was much less sweet and I thought a perfect topping for the bars. Bottom line is this is a good recipe to make as is or to tweak to personal preferences. And DEFINITELY squeeze the water out of the shredded zucchini - it made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These are easy but I think there is too much oil in the recipe. I made to a T except I added some cinnamon. They taste good but they are too oily. It is extremely important to drain the zucchini. Just put the shredded zucchini in a dish towel and wring out. When you see how much water comes out you will see why it is so important to do this. My bars still took about 15 minutes longer to cook than what the recipe stated. If you make the frosting, make sure you add about 1 cup of the powdered sugar and taste, then keep tasting until it is the taste you prefer. Thank you! I had to change my rating on this. I guess I rated it too soon. My family loved these so I changed rating to a 5! They are very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I read about the concerns of too much oil. I added 1/3c of oil and 2/3c apple sauce. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
"Better than Paula Deen's zucchini bread," was my husband's review (and we both love her bread). I used a sheet pan to make this and it was the right choice. It took 20-25 minutes to cook, and it was fantastic, plus it makes more bars. And the more of these, the better because they will be gone fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious. I didn't have any issues with the oil and I did squeeze all of the water out of the zucchini before I added it. I do agree with the reviewer who said that it is more like cake than bars, but it was still wonderful. I did cut down on the sugar, as I usually do in most baked goods...I used about 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 cups. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These are amazing! I made them as is. They just took a little longer to bake in my oven. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States