Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Very moist, very easy. Everyone loves it. The frosting was too sweet for me the first day but seemed to tone down a lot the following day. Definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
These were excellent. I added some spices and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
Made this twice and everyone liked it. I am somewhat concerned about the veg oil amount. Frosting is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I'm not sure if it's something I did wrong, but these did not come out at all. I cooked them until the edges burned, and the middle was still completely uncooked. I did try a little piece off the edge before I dumped it out, and it had a great taste. The cooking time is just off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This recipe is just ordinary. Regular zucchini bread is much better and I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This was a great "starter" recipe! I added nutmeg, cinnamon and some applesauce and it tastes like a great, moist breakfast cake! The grownups love it can't see why the kids won't too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
These were great! I added nuts the 2nd time I made them. The frosting was a bit to buttery for my family so I decreased the butter and increased the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This recipe is really more like cake than cookies. It definitely needs some spices added. I made it exactly as written and it has a sweet, but oily taste. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I have not tried this recipe yet, but I will say that if your bread/bars are not cooking up right, you really HAVE TO squeeze all the liquid out of the shredded zucchini BEFORE you measure it. That is imperative!!! Zucchini is a very watery vegetable and that may be the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good recipe, although I have to say I would call this Zucchnini Cake due to the texture. To me, bars are more chewy. That being said, I have had rave reviews on this recipe. My family loved the first batch, so I made another to take to a picnic and they were a hit there too. I tried adding some spice to the second batch like some users recomended, but it didn't seem to make a big difference in the taste - maybe I didn't add enough. However, I like the taste of the original recipe anyway - I think if you add too much spice it would overwhelm the taste of the batter. The frosting was a little too sweet for me, so in the second batch I added the confectioners sugar a little at a time and tasted as I went along - I ended up using far less than what was called for, I'd say about half. The second batch of icing was much less sweet and I thought a perfect topping for the bars. Bottom line is this is a good recipe to make as is or to tweak to personal preferences. And DEFINITELY squeeze the water out of the shredded zucchini - it made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States