Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I couldn't give these five stars because I followed some of the suggestions of other raters. I cut the oil down to 1/3 c and used 2/3 cup applesauce, and I used a different recipe for the cream cheese frosting. They turned out great! I cooked them in 2 9in round pans and brought one over to my parents. My mom reported later that my dad ate over half the pan himself! As we have a seemingly endless supply of zucchini, I will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These turned out great!! I didn't have zucchini so i used the yellow squach. I was a little worried how it would taste. Was so good my husband who never tried zucchini cake before said how really moist and delicious it was. So i gave this recipe a five stars. Thanks for shareing and i will be using this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My family loved these bars. I agree, more like cake than a bar. I used canned cream cheese frosting and they were delish. Great way to use Zucchini!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These are amazing! I made them as is. They just took a little longer to bake in my oven. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I definitely should have read the reviews before cooking this recipe. It was good, but the icing was too buttery ( I added a lot more sugar), the middle did not set in 25 min (more like 40) and it did turn out like a cake instead of bars. My recommendation is to read all the other reviews and apply the changes and then it will turn out perfect. Love the twist with zucchini - something different from traditional zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made these exactly as written (which was in error, as I intended to lessen the oil per the advice of some reviewers) and I agreed that they were too oily. I did wring out the excess liquid in the zucchini and I also had to cook them for about 35 minutes; the middle jiggled like jello at 25 min. But they taste really yummy! So my husband and I decided to rate them at 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
If I hadn't totally messed this up, it'd be great--although definitely more cake-like than bar. I drained the zucchini, but apparently that wasn't enough. My middle would NOT set up, so I'll definitely squeeze the zucchini next time. I also took the advice of others and reduced the butter in the icing (to 1/3 c) and powdered sugar to half (1 1/4 c) and increased the cream cheese to 4 oz. I thought it was great and can see how it would be too buttery and sweet as written. It was terrific and hopefully I'll get it right next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was really good, but I would rename it "zucchini cake" 'cause that's really what it was. Very tasty, but not so much a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious. I didn't have any issues with the oil and I did squeeze all of the water out of the zucchini before I added it. I do agree with the reviewer who said that it is more like cake than bars, but it was still wonderful. I did cut down on the sugar, as I usually do in most baked goods...I used about 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 cups. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
"Better than Paula Deen's zucchini bread," was my husband's review (and we both love her bread). I used a sheet pan to make this and it was the right choice. It took 20-25 minutes to cook, and it was fantastic, plus it makes more bars. And the more of these, the better because they will be gone fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States