Zucchini Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Something just seemed to be missing. I will try adding more spice next time. It did go well toasted with Dulce de Leche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I just got finished putting this together and was a bit confused. I substituted 2 cups of the flour for whole wheat flour and when I went to mix it into the egg mixture it was so thick there was no way I could "pour" it into the loaf pans. I added more oil, another egg, and some milk before it was even close to the consistency I have seen in other recipes. Did I do something wrong? Seems like its a bit shy on the liquid ingredients to me. Anyway, I just stuck it in the oven and can't wait to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Woemmel Rohlfing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Absolutely love this bread. It is so moist and full of flavor. I used applesauce instead of the butter and was out of walnuts, so I used pecans in the bread instead. Will make over and over, especially in the upcoming fall months. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a big disappointment. I made this a week or so after making Blueberry Zucchini bread which was the best, most moist z bread I've ever made, so my expectations were high. But this bread came out dry and a little bland. I don't think I did anything wrong following the directions, but it cooked in half the time and as I said it was dry. I believe the flour to oil ratio is way off. I won't bother trying to fix it though because next time I'll just use the Blueberry recipe and substitute apples for the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I used a mixture of rice flour and garbanzo bean flour instead of the wheat flour (husband is allergic to wheat), didn't drain my zucchini, was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great flavor - I headed the recommendations of others and grated both the apple and zuch, and added 1 more egg. Cooked perfectly. I used Organic Oat flour instead of all purpose - didn't seem to affect the texture - I'll definately add this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I love quick breads, but I thought this one was much too sweet. If I make it again I will reduce the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is an excellent, fast recipe for one of those situations where you're expected to bring in a baked cook for the next day and only have a weekday night with limited time. I cut the recipe in half and shredded 1 medium zucchini and 1 medium apple. I substituted two teaspoons of baking powder for baking soda. I also used whole wheat pastry flour rather than regular flour. The bread came out quite well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
SOoooooo good! I added 1/2 cup of raisins. Tastes more like cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, and I grated the zucchini and apple instead of chopping them. I also added a little ground flax seed. I was surprised by the fact that the bread didn't rise at all. It stayed flat, dark, and almost too moist. Still good, but not anything that looks like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States