Zucchini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I tried everything with this recipe except fresh basil. I used dried basil n it tasted fine but it'd probably taste better with fresh basil. But I also didnt use 1/2 cup of the basil. I just dosed it with some heavy shakes. Also I added another two ounces of cream cheese. We're fans of thick creamy sauce. Also we added more of the garlic, salt and pepper, a quick dash of Italian seasoning and a few shots of hot sauce to give it a kick. It was too sweet before the hot sauce. And like other said, the parmesan cheese is a must! Last but not leastx the pasta was too much for the amount of sauce. I'd recommend doubling the sauce ingredients or cutting the pasta amount in half. Other than that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Breault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Even with adding onion, artichokes and spinach, and using flavored cream cheese, we didn't think this recipe had much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very yummy! Like many people I sauteed some onion but I used purple onion for the sweetness. I didn't have the produce on hand but I can see adding a variety of veggies to this dish. To my plate I added a few cherry tomatoes. It livened up the colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I liked this a lot but found that there was not NEARLY enough sauce for the amount of noodles indicated. I'd probably keep the noodles the same and double the sauce next time. Also, it was super-thick and I had to add a lot more milk to thin it out before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made as written except used olive oil in place of vegetable oil. DELICIOUS! Simple and so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was very good, lots of options available. Chickened out and used commercial Alfredo. Added some onion and artichokes. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
It was really lovely, like some others I tweaked it a little bit, so put some milk in as well as cream cheese, I also added mushrooms and spring onions - but main bonus was my children won't courgettes (zucchini) and it was so well disguised by shredding it they didn't realise they were there :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't stray too far from the original recipe. I didn't have any zucchini on hand, so I used squash instead. Other then that everything else was the same. After cooking it tasted a bit bland, so I added some garlic salt. Like others, next time I would consider adding onion and more garlic to enhance the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Our family recently went vegetarian for the next 30 days and this is a great recipe!! Yes, there are changes that can be made that make this recipe great. For instance I added double the amount of garlic, added oregano, a little adobo seasoning, and salt. I choose to squeeze the excess liquid out of the shredded zucchini before sauteing as well. Cream cheese does make this recipe nice but you MUST have Parmesan cheese, I added a combo of Parmesan, Romano and Asiago cheese (3/4 cup) to the sauce. I used the recommended amount of zucchini but also added spinach and fresh minced onion...yum. My two boys and my husband LOVED this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
As per some of the other reviews I took the suggestion to add onion and use both butter and oil as well as add some parmesan to the sauce. I also agree that it takes more milk to make the sauce the right consistency so I just did that by eye. This is absolutely delicious and not as high in fat and calories as it appears if you use light cream cheese and low fat milk. This ones a keeper. I think that serving it over linguini or other pasta would be almost better texture wise than egg noodles but that is my only criticism. AND it was super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegiewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States