Zopf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by brittany7496
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I read reviews before I made it and added some salt. I assumed the poster simply forgot it. I have made this bread several times since I discovered it a few months ago. Love, love, love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
no taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My husband is Swiss and has used this recipe to make his favorite bread from home. It is delicious with a little butter and jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this today and it was absolutely fantastic. I was looking for a no salt bread for my father who is on a restricted diet. This is it! It was also fairly easy to make. It was the first loaf of bread i have made from sratch and it turned out perfect. We all loved it, you can tell it doesn't have salt, but if that's what you have to have, then this recipe is the bomb. It was delicious and soft and its something that anyone on a salt resticted diet can eat. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I give this recipe five stars BUT I would like to know if the author forgot the salt and also forgot to say to let the dough rise for 30-45 minutes before proceeding to braid or is it really correct as is....? because it sure doesn't work if you use the recipe as it is written here. I knew enough to add the salt and to let it have a first rising but my daughter didn't and hers turned out tasteless and hard.(I forgot to tell her about my changes when I sent her to this site for the recipe.. oops!) Otherwise it is an excellent bread! Very soft and fragrant! Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolleezmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this bread for my daughters sixth grade class. She did a culture study on Switzerland. I followed the recipe exact. It turned out beautifully. The outside doesn't get hard and crusty like some breads I have made at home. The texture was nice and the taste was pretty good too, especially the next day. Next time i will add a teaspoon of salt. I let it rise an hour + after I braided it. I was surprised how much it rose up. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The braid is pretty, but this just seemed like standard white bread to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is one of the best bread recipes I've made in a long time. Easy, straightforward and VERY fluffy! It's dense, yet light at the same time. Probably not for a beginner baker, but definitely for someone who has baked a loaf or two and has discovered the nuances of bread-baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is a good recipe except that its lacking salt. i added 1 1/2 tsp of salt and it came out nice. i,ve made zopf twice before and it always had salt in the recipe. not sure if the salt was accidently left out in this recipe or not but i definitely prefer salt in my bread. without it it lacks taste and is bland. but thats me. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because the dough smelled wonderful as I was kneading it and the bread looked gorgeous when it came out of the oven... But, the taste was very bland and reminded me of eating partially cooked dough, even though it was cooked all the way through. I was rather disappointed. I won't be using this recipe again, but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loverofbaking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States