Zopf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
A wonderful recipe for a great bread. This bread is great with butter and honey, or just jam, on relaxing Sunday mornings. Be sure to use *whole milk* (not skim milk) or you will get a bread that isn't as rich as it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
great recipie, highly recommend. old world style texture and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This bread would have been very good if it had salt in the ingredients. It cooked for only 16 minutes before turning brown and was not cooked all the way through. It did look good and had good texture but was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This bread is great! It's good with with some sort of spread...honey, preserves, nutella, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyohtani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Delicious! Be sure to use whole milk so it has its nice creamy taste! It's great with a soup, and its very addicting - disappears quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
great soft bread. great for PB and J sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I am so happy!! Ive been born and raised in Switzerland and moved to the USA after ive gotten married to my american husband. I am very happy here but i sure missed my Zopf. Now I am able to bake it for my American family... I've got even my father in law hooked with that bread... Thank you soooooooooooo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is a good recipe, makes a nice bread. I would suggest a few changes from my experience; I live on the French/Swiss border and make this bread with a slightly different recipe according to the Swiss German housewives. I suggest adding 1/2 Tablespoon of salt, 3/4 teaspoon of sugar, omitting the egg mixed into the dough and instead using a couple of Tablespoons of plain yogurt (it helps the bread "keep" longer). I also let it rise twice: once before braiding and once after, I'm not sure if that makes a difference. Thanks for this recipe, it's always great to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is wounerful! I'm diabetic and have kidney failure, so I am on strict diets. This is very low sodium, adverage carb., and tastes good! It is really good toasted! I put sesame seeds on it, because I can. Will defineitely make again and again. jThank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Texture: amazing- soft, toasts very well, dough easy to braid and work with. Taste: very very bland. This would be good to dip into flavored olive oil, or toast with honey or jam. But as a bread itself, the taste is lacking and flavorless. Process: I used my bread machine, putting in the milk, egg, & butter, followed by flour and yeast. I rose once in my machine. Then I took it out, braided it, and left it out for about 45 minutes (covered with a wet cloth) to rise (and it rose a lot, so I recommend a second rise). cooked about 20 minutes. Very light bread.- (If) Next-time alterations: add 3/4 teaspoon salt (a must), 1 tsp sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States