Zopf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was a good crusty bread. As another reviewer did, I let it rise twice. It created a heavy bread. Next time I will follow the recipe. I did add 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great braided white bread recipe; however, the texture, taste and smell are all wrong. Zopf should have a buttery taste that is delicious right out of the oven without anything on it. The texture should be a little more elastic than this recipe and it should fill your home with a wonderful, buttery aroma. This recipe fails on all counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anika McCarter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brittany7496
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I read reviews before I made it and added some salt. I assumed the poster simply forgot it. I have made this bread several times since I discovered it a few months ago. Love, love, love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
no taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My husband is Swiss and has used this recipe to make his favorite bread from home. It is delicious with a little butter and jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this today and it was absolutely fantastic. I was looking for a no salt bread for my father who is on a restricted diet. This is it! It was also fairly easy to make. It was the first loaf of bread i have made from sratch and it turned out perfect. We all loved it, you can tell it doesn't have salt, but if that's what you have to have, then this recipe is the bomb. It was delicious and soft and its something that anyone on a salt resticted diet can eat. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I give this recipe five stars BUT I would like to know if the author forgot the salt and also forgot to say to let the dough rise for 30-45 minutes before proceeding to braid or is it really correct as is....? because it sure doesn't work if you use the recipe as it is written here. I knew enough to add the salt and to let it have a first rising but my daughter didn't and hers turned out tasteless and hard.(I forgot to tell her about my changes when I sent her to this site for the recipe.. oops!) Otherwise it is an excellent bread! Very soft and fragrant! Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Gucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this bread for my daughters sixth grade class. She did a culture study on Switzerland. I followed the recipe exact. It turned out beautifully. The outside doesn't get hard and crusty like some breads I have made at home. The texture was nice and the taste was pretty good too, especially the next day. Next time i will add a teaspoon of salt. I let it rise an hour + after I braided it. I was surprised how much it rose up. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The braid is pretty, but this just seemed like standard white bread to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is one of the best bread recipes I've made in a long time. Easy, straightforward and VERY fluffy! It's dense, yet light at the same time. Probably not for a beginner baker, but definitely for someone who has baked a loaf or two and has discovered the nuances of bread-baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States