Ziti with Tomato-Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Fantastic sauce idea! It's perfect when I don't feel like making a sauce from scratch. I add fresh, chopped portobello mushrooms to the sauce and let it simmer for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Added some sliced zucchini, mushrooms and Italian sausage. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Excellent sauce! I added Italian sausage for a quick easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
It never occured to me to add pesto sauce to plain old spaghetti sauce - the results are wonderful. Though you can't really taste the pesto, it really adds another layer flavor. I did change a few things. First, I browned and crumbled some sweet Italian sausage, then added some fresh mushrooms. Once that was all cooked, I add two cans of plain spaghetti sauce and almost a whole container of pesto. Once the pasta was cooked, I threw it all in a casserole, topped with cheese and baked for 20 minutes or so. My husband doesn't usually comment on pasta dishes - this one he did, repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The pesto made the tomato sauce seem greasy. Plus, the pesto flavor was drowned out by the tomato sauce. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
quick and easy but not fantastic. I guess you have to start out with a really good canned/jarred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This is a great quick low calorie pasta dish. I normally like to make my own sauce but an easy dinner is nice once in a while. Also I bought Victoria basil-tomato sauce and pesto sauce. And they were both very good. The pesto was perfect. It was not overwhelming but you could taste the flavor. I melted mozzarella on my husband's dinner and with mine, I rounded out the dinner with a nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I loved the sauce. I add turkey sausage with casings removed, 1 jar of roasted red peppers, and some scoops of ricotta cheese. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe is incredibly easy and healthy. I used Prego sauce and pesto with basil. Yum-o! All my kids (ages 17, 14, and 5) ate seconds. We served it with frozen cheesy garlic bread and had dinner on the table in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Deliciously perfect exactly how it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States