Ziti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
A delicious change from regular pasta and sauce. If you work during the week, this is an excellent dish to make ahead and re-warm. It's also a hit at pot-lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This was one of the better recipes Ive tried from the pasta site. My picky kids loved it as did my husband. I used packaged Marinara sauce and added it to the sausage which made it even easier. It would be excellent to add spicey italian sausage but then im afraid it would be too hot for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This is great, but the second time I made it I made modifications: I sauteed the sausage along with the vegetables, and then just added the tomatoes and seasonings. I made extra sauce by using a 28 oz. can tomatoes (ran them through the food processor) and an extra 8 oz. tomato sauce, adding extra seasonings as well. I also used fresh mushrooms, and just sliced them and cooked them in the sauce. Instead of layering everything, I just mixed the cooked pasta together with the sauce and layered that with the cheese (using lots more cheese than called for). I ended up with two layers of sauce/cheese. I was looking for something very saucy and cheesy, and that was pretty much perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Use hot italien sausage for more flavor; after removing from casing, brown in olive oil and a little garlic powder. I don't use the canned tomatoes or sauce, I find that Clasico brand Spagetti bottled sauce is best because it's a little chunky and good flavor. I always double the recipe and make two portions, freezing one. In the process I probably use about 4 or 5 bottles of sause (28oz - I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Hey! This was really good. Thanks for the great idea for italian sausage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This was a nice change for pasta. I followed the recipe except mixed everything together and left off the parmesan cheese. I was hesitant about the celery but it added a good flavor and texture. I don't like all the cheeses so was glad to find a recipe with just mozzarella. This tasted the same next day so leftovers can follow you to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I was in a hurry so I used a jarred sauce. It was still YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was super easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I found that this recipie didn't use nearly enough sauce. I would triple the sauce on this. 45 minutes in the oven may also be too long. If everything is already cooked and fairly warm, it should only take 15-20 minutes in the oven. It came out very dry and near the edges the macaroni was crunchy. Definitely would be better with a lot more sauce and less time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made this without the mushrooms and really liked the flavor. However, I thought it needed more sauce (or less pasta). I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States