Ziti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I thought this was great - I read the other reviews and made some modifications: I used a whole cup each of chopped onion and celery, and I used a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce. I used fresh crushed garlic, fresh and dried basil, fennel seed, white pepper, and a pinch of hot pepper flakes. And less salt. I used part skim mozzarella to bring down the fat content and instead of canned mushrooms I used a pound of fresh, sliced mushrooms. The many layers shown here by keeping the mushrooms, sauce, and sausage mixture separate seemed too time consuming, so I mixed those together, and my layers were simply pasta, sauce, cheese, repeat. I also added some fresh chopped parsley to the top before baking it for 25 minutes. We really enjoyed it with a loaf of french bread, and it makes lots - I'm happy to have yummy leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This is great, but the second time I made it I made modifications: I sauteed the sausage along with the vegetables, and then just added the tomatoes and seasonings. I made extra sauce by using a 28 oz. can tomatoes (ran them through the food processor) and an extra 8 oz. tomato sauce, adding extra seasonings as well. I also used fresh mushrooms, and just sliced them and cooked them in the sauce. Instead of layering everything, I just mixed the cooked pasta together with the sauce and layered that with the cheese (using lots more cheese than called for). I ended up with two layers of sauce/cheese. I was looking for something very saucy and cheesy, and that was pretty much perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I found that this recipie didn't use nearly enough sauce. I would triple the sauce on this. 45 minutes in the oven may also be too long. If everything is already cooked and fairly warm, it should only take 15-20 minutes in the oven. It came out very dry and near the edges the macaroni was crunchy. Definitely would be better with a lot more sauce and less time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Use hot italien sausage for more flavor; after removing from casing, brown in olive oil and a little garlic powder. I don't use the canned tomatoes or sauce, I find that Clasico brand Spagetti bottled sauce is best because it's a little chunky and good flavor. I always double the recipe and make two portions, freezing one. In the process I probably use about 4 or 5 bottles of sause (28oz - I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Delicious and easy! Like others, I used a premade sauce - I used Emeril's "Kicked Up Tomatoe". The changes I made after reading the reviews was to use only 1/2 the amt. of pasta (I was cooking for 3), 1/2 the amount of sausage but used the full amount of onions (omitted the celery), used one can of mushrooms, used a 28 oz jar of speghetti sauce, the full 8 oz. of mozzarella and parmeasan cheese. I also just mixed everything together except for the parmeasan which I added to the top as directed. It turned out perfectly - I was told it was the best ziti I had ever made and I agree. If you are going to do the recipe for 8 servings I agree with most of the others - you will need more sauce. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
We use Boca Italian sausage for this and absolutely love it. I too use pre-made pasta sauce and I mix everything together rather than layering it-also I cover the casserole while cooking so it doesnt dry out-thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was a delicious recipe for baked ziti. Subbed bottled pasta sauce and only used about 12 oz of ziti based on other reviews. Also used 8 oz fresh mushrooms. Fabulous! Will repeat often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
A delicious change from regular pasta and sauce. If you work during the week, this is an excellent dish to make ahead and re-warm. It's also a hit at pot-lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I was in a hurry so I used a jarred sauce. It was still YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This was one of the better recipes Ive tried from the pasta site. My picky kids loved it as did my husband. I used packaged Marinara sauce and added it to the sausage which made it even easier. It would be excellent to add spicey italian sausage but then im afraid it would be too hot for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States