Ziti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I halved the recipe, used fresh mushrooms, and used onion powder for garlic powder as recommended by others. I made it the day before cooking, and the mushrooms turned the ziti black and made it look like the ziti was molded. Grossed people out, so don't make this dish too much ahead of time. The bad presentation aspect is not worth a melded flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I liked this a lot. After reading the reviews, I omitted the celery and halved the pasta. I didn't have any mushrooms on hand, so that was out, although next time I'll buy some. I like spicy food so used hot Italian sausage and Anaheim peppers. (I know, wouldn't it be nice if we just reviewed the actual recipe??) Anyway, this was a great baked ziti recipe that can be adapted to anybody's taste. It's important to stick to the 30 minute cooking time, though, as opposed to 45. Thanks, George, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I make this recipe regularly. It's easy and very tasty. I use 28 oz. cans of both tomato sauce and tomatoes. I also double the spices but I cut back the salt to 2 teaspoons. I also double the onion. I usually leave out the celery as I don't usually have it on hand. But I have made it both ways and it is great with or without. I always add the sauce to the pan with my sausage. Then I mix in the pasta. I layer half of the mixture with 2 cups mozzarella and then the remainder with another 2 cups of mozzarella and top with the Parmesan. (My family loves cheese!) I only bake it about 35 minutes to keep the top from drying out too much. ***Don't miss out on the sauce by using a jar of pasta sauce. The sauce is very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was so easy and a nice change of pace from regular spaghetti. I used tricolor rotini, because I had no ziti, which was fine. I also used bottled sauce and italian turkey sausage. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was very good and easy to make. Didn't have any celery, so used many mushrooms. The leftovers were also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good. I used a jar of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I used turkey keilbasa (and just chopped it into chunks), swiss cheese, added some basil and red pepper to the sauce and used a 2 qt baking dish. I recommend covering with foil for the first half of the baking time to prevent burning. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I made this tonight and it was great! My husband loved it too!! I used hot turkey Italian sausage, penne rigate pasta, and 1 and a half jars of Prego Tomato, Onion, and Garlic Sauce. After I cooked the sausage I mixed in the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes. Then I mixed half the sauce with half of the cooked pasta and put it in a 9 x 13 baking dish. I put mozzarella cheese on top and then put the other layer of pasta and sauce on top of that. Then I topped it off with the rest of the mozzarella and parmesan cheese. I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. I think 45 minutes would have been too long since everything was already cooked. It turned out perfect. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
The dish is really good but it needs more sauce!!! I put in 28oz of tomatoes and 15oz of tomato sauce and it was still a bit dry. I also added in extra seasonings- just what I had on hand! My husband and I do not like mushrooms so I put yellow corn in instead and we both love it. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is a very good recipe. It's easy to make, with simple ingredients, and the end result is a rich, filling meal. I used turkey Italian sausage, added some fresh garlic in addition to the onion and celery during browning, and some basil to the sauce. The celery seemed a little weird in a pasta dish, but it added a nice contrast in texture to the pasta, cheese,and sausage. Overall, this dish was excellent. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States