Ziti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Wow! This is really good. I added a can of rotel in place of the crushed tomatoes for an extra kick, and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was wonderful. The only thing I did different was leave out the celery because we really don't care for it. Otherwise, it was an excellent dish. Thanks for a great dish. Anne B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Terrific casserole which I would make again. A few alterations...whole wheat pasta (because that's what I had on hand), 2 cloves garlic instead of powder, Sweet Italian sausage which seemed to cut down the sharp acid flavor of tomato sauces. I omitted the oregano and canned tomato products and used a jar of tomato & basil spaghetti sauce instead. I cut the salt to about 1/4 tsp. I added a bit of parmesan to an inside layer as well as on top. If making this with a pound of pasta (which I did not), I would use extra sauce as others have stated was necessary. It was just a fabulous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I agree with other posters that it has too little sauce for the amount of pasta in this dish. In fact, the amount of noodles cause this to be really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Delicious and easy! Like others, I used a premade sauce - I used Emeril's "Kicked Up Tomatoe". The changes I made after reading the reviews was to use only 1/2 the amt. of pasta (I was cooking for 3), 1/2 the amount of sausage but used the full amount of onions (omitted the celery), used one can of mushrooms, used a 28 oz jar of speghetti sauce, the full 8 oz. of mozzarella and parmeasan cheese. I also just mixed everything together except for the parmeasan which I added to the top as directed. It turned out perfectly - I was told it was the best ziti I had ever made and I agree. If you are going to do the recipe for 8 servings I agree with most of the others - you will need more sauce. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Excellent flavor. Would make more red sauce next time. It was too dry, not enough for how much pasta the recipe called for. Other than that it was great! Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I only made minor changes to the recipe to suit my family's tastes. Otherwise, this recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was wonderful. I used spicey sausage, but my whole family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Very good and very easy to make. I browned the sausage with the celery, minced garlic and onion, drained it on some paper towels, then added it to the sauce along with fresh mushrooms. No need to dirty another pan. I also used double the amount of canned tomatoes and tomatoe sauce. Extra cheese needed as well. This works with penne or fusilli pasta as well. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great base recipe. I enjoy a recipe one can work with. I as many others added extra sauce and cheese. I decreased the salt to a scant half teaspoon and added hotsauce and pepper. I also added a can of Italian tomatoes plus a bit more Italian seasoning. My family tends to like a little less meat so I hope to try this with no meat and with half the meat. I know it will turn out yummy. One other thing, this really does make a ton of food. You will have plenty to share!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States