Ziti and Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe was so simple! I've never even dared cook eggplant before, and the dish just turned out so delicious. I made it with the crushed tomatoes that come with the Italian herbs, and put some slices of provolone on top of the sauce to melt right before I served it over whole wheat pasta. The roasted red peppers put the flavor right over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a great base to start with. I added fresh basil, garlic, and oregeno. It would be great with artichokes and/or mushrooms added also. It got my extra picky husband to eat eggplant so I'm thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This recipe was okay,my family likes eggplant and so I wanted to try something different so tried this recipe....I used eggnoodles instead of ziti but something was missing ....sorry but this dish did not click with me or my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is interesting, needs something else to add some flavor. I added tomatoes with chili's and that spiced it up a bit, but it still needs a little something. To make it cook quicker I put it in a pressure cooker for 10 minutes (instead of the 45 min in pot). The eggplant was very tender and perfect. Maybe some parm cheese on top would be good. I will saute some onions and garlic to add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I love eggplant so I enjoyed this, it did however lack flavor. I added parmesean cheese to the skillet. I also cooked chicken on the side in butter, garlic and fresh parsley. When cooked through I added it to the eggplant and tomatoes. It tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. It takes a while to cook, but my fiance (who doesn't eat eggplant) even enjoyed it. We did add chunks of chicken the recipe which made it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was just OK, the eggplant took a lot longer than it was supposed to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Not my type of sauce. Too acidic. I feel that zuccini gives a very smooth and savory taste. Eggplant just isnt meant for this type of sauce. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I used whole wheat pasta instead of ziti. This is SO tasty! The eggplant absorbed all of the flavors and I couldn't even tell I was eating eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very Good!! I made this without the cheesy pitas, I just substituted garlic bread and it was excellent! The only thing, I had to use a nonstick pan when I sauted the eggplant...started out in a regular and it was sticking since there is not alot of olive oil, and I also halved the red pepper as was suggested. Will definately make this again! I cooked for 4 adults and there was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States