Ziti and Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Excellent! Subbed coconut oil, used jarred sauce, used dried red peppers. This was just great and I will make this many more times. Thanks for giving me the idea of putting eggplant with mac and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this a few times now. It doesn't wow me--lacks flavor as written. I'll keep making it, but add more Italian seasoning and perhaps simply salt & pepper to make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Since I'm giving this a good review, I don't feel badly about minor changes. I like experimenting & learning from others' trys. I can't help it! :D Added an onion, 4 cloves garlic, 1T dried oregano, no peppers. Blended to hide the eggplant. It worked! KK liked it so much she requested it two days later. :o :) Also added 1/8t fennel, ground. The sauce turned orange-y in one batch so I'll divide it in two next time. Not a big deal, just me being weird. ;D 'Didn't do the pitas, but I'll get there someday. Put about half pound italian blend cheese in & remaining half on top. Thanks for an inexpensive & pretty healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Really very good. I just didn't add the roasted peppers (didn't have any) and used Gemelli pasta - and it was yum... even for my 4-year-old :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Fantastic recipe - one of the best vegetarian pastas I have had. I did add some onion, garlic, and oregano in the beginning, and a little bit of shredded mozarella towards the end. Also I mixed the sauce and pasta together for a few minutes so that there was no way for my 2 year old to avoid the veggies - turned out he loved the sauce and was picking out the eggplant pieces to eat them directly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I found it to be way too sweet. Also, I imagine sauteed onion would be a wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe. Even my little brother liked it and he's pretty hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The cheesy pita pockets are what make this recipe, otherwise it's difficult to taste anything outside of the tomato stew. Would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Made this tonight and it turned out delicious. I started by cooking some onions first, followed by eggplant and mushrooms. For the sauce I added a combination of Italian whole canned tomatoes, and pureed tomatoes. The roasted red peppers give the sauce a nice smokey sweetness. I also added garlic, Italian seasoning, oregano, and basil, as well as fennel seed. I learned from another excellent recipe on this site to add the fennel and it really make the sauce taste nice and meaty, sans the meat. I also made the pita cheese bread with the paprika and that was quite good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe was so simple! I've never even dared cook eggplant before, and the dish just turned out so delicious. I made it with the crushed tomatoes that come with the Italian herbs, and put some slices of provolone on top of the sauce to melt right before I served it over whole wheat pasta. The roasted red peppers put the flavor right over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States