Ziti and Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Excellent! Subbed coconut oil, used jarred sauce, used dried red peppers. This was just great and I will make this many more times. Thanks for giving me the idea of putting eggplant with mac and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this a few times now. It doesn't wow me--lacks flavor as written. I'll keep making it, but add more Italian seasoning and perhaps simply salt & pepper to make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Since I'm giving this a good review, I don't feel badly about minor changes. I like experimenting & learning from others' trys. I can't help it! :D Added an onion, 4 cloves garlic, 1T dried oregano, no peppers. Blended to hide the eggplant. It worked! KK liked it so much she requested it two days later. :o :) Also added 1/8t fennel, ground. The sauce turned orange-y in one batch so I'll divide it in two next time. Not a big deal, just me being weird. ;D 'Didn't do the pitas, but I'll get there someday. Put about half pound italian blend cheese in & remaining half on top. Thanks for an inexpensive & pretty healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Really very good. I just didn't add the roasted peppers (didn't have any) and used Gemelli pasta - and it was yum... even for my 4-year-old :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Fantastic recipe - one of the best vegetarian pastas I have had. I did add some onion, garlic, and oregano in the beginning, and a little bit of shredded mozarella towards the end. Also I mixed the sauce and pasta together for a few minutes so that there was no way for my 2 year old to avoid the veggies - turned out he loved the sauce and was picking out the eggplant pieces to eat them directly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I found it to be way too sweet. Also, I imagine sauteed onion would be a wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe. Even my little brother liked it and he's pretty hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was good. I'm giving it four stars because as written I can see where others would find it bland. I sauteed a cup of chopped onion along with the eggplant until lightly browned. Added a heaping tablespoon of chopped garlic, two cans of stewed tomatoes and half a cup of homemade roasted red peppers in garlic and balsamic vinegar. I also added a good splash of red wine, half a dozen chopped fresh basil leaves, and a heaping spoonful of pesto and topped with parmesan. The recipe as written is a great start, each cook just needs to adjust according to their own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The cheesy pita pockets are what make this recipe, otherwise it's difficult to taste anything outside of the tomato stew. Would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Made this tonight and it turned out delicious. I started by cooking some onions first, followed by eggplant and mushrooms. For the sauce I added a combination of Italian whole canned tomatoes, and pureed tomatoes. The roasted red peppers give the sauce a nice smokey sweetness. I also added garlic, Italian seasoning, oregano, and basil, as well as fennel seed. I learned from another excellent recipe on this site to add the fennel and it really make the sauce taste nice and meaty, sans the meat. I also made the pita cheese bread with the paprika and that was quite good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States