Ziti Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
To avoid lumps with the cornstarch - mix the cornstarch in some cold water and the add it to the sauce. It will prevent lumps. I also added 1 cup of cheese, baked the chicken in the oven instead of frying it, and used fat free half and half. A huge hit with the husband and the children. I agree it can be a little bland, I will add some Italian seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I do think this recipe is tasty. However, I do agree that this dish could use a lot more sauce. The first thing my children said was that they thought it was a little dry. However, it was a very tasty recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Recipe as written was way, way too bland. Luckily I read all most helpful reviews, so used 1/2 & 1/2, adding another cup for a total of 3 cups. I used 2 cups of chicken broth. I tripled the parmesan, to 3/4 cup. I used 6 cloves of garlic, added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp aleppo pepper, and 1 tsp of trinidad spice from Penzeys (has salt, garlic, and lemon in it). I also did not bread my chicken - I flattened it, brined it for 15 mins., and then sautéd it in 1 T of olive oil. Once I made all of these adjustments, I actually liked the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Frates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Really great recipe. Have made it for many high school hockey and basketball team dinners. It's always gone! I marinate and grill the chicken to add to the pasta and broccoli instead of breading and frying it. You'll never miss it the other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I could not stop eating the sauce!! I also made it a bit differently: after softening the garlic I added 3T (ish) of AP flour, making a roux. Then gradually added in the cream (1/2 of what's called for) and then the stock (extra to make up for cut cream). I was worried without a slurry that the cornstarch would clump, and I often I cannot get sauces to thicken properly with it. Also, I blanched the broccoli (legit: shocked and all) and it really made for bright, al dente broccoli, that did not moosh all over the dish. And you can totally bake the chicken, as I did, to reduce/eliminate oil. Hands down THE BEST scratch recipe for chicken, broccoli, ziti. Thank you for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I doubled the cheese and sautéed the chicken in olive oil. I used Mrs. Dash poultry seasoning on the chicken. Myself, my brother and my roommate's girlfriend have it the thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This dish came out DE-LIC-IOUS!!!!! I used evaporated milk because I didn't have heavy cream, I also omitted the artichoke (because I don't like it). I like a lot of sauce, so I doubled the amount for the sauce. The corn starch gets lumpy, so I added 1 spoonful at a time. I also didn't have any cheese on hand & this dish came out yummy. I will DEF make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelJunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Recipe is really good... For the sauce, I substituted a tablespoon or two of olive oil instead of butter with the garlic. I also used 1.5 cups of 1% milk instead of heavy creme and added some white wine (about 1/2 - 2/3 cup) and 3-4 slices of lemon. With the chicken, it was coated it a little flour, salt & pepper then cooked in olive oil. After the sauce was done, the chicken (cooked) and broccoli (raw) was tossed in for about 5 - 10 minutes. Def recommend added the lemon and wine - it cuts out some of the cheesey parm taste and it similar to Bertucci's (for those who know the restaurant)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
GLUTEN FREE DIRECTIONS: was so very good, but I had to alter for my allergy. better than at a restaurant. made this tonight and was hands down one of the best CBZ recipes ever. I used a le cruset type pot on top of the stove to cook most all of it, except the steaming of the broccoli (purposefully undercooked), which I did in a basket above the gluten free pasta. I presauted a package of mushrooms in EVOO and put that aside. I cut the chicken thin and into smaller chucks, powdered them with a 1/2 cup cornstarch and 1.5 tablespoons McCormack garlic salt mixed together, then parcooked, browned them on each side in EVOO, and also put them aside. I used homemade chicken stock, and instead of chicken bouillon cube I used better than bouillon chicken base (comes in a jar). used about 2 tsps. of that and scrapped all the goodness of the bottom of the pot. I ended up only adding about 1 Tbsp of cornstarch at the end to thicken and that was the leftover from the chicken powdering in the beginning. I added all back to the pot- the mushrooms, the chicken and broccoli (I did omit the artichokes, my kids not a fan) and then served over GF pasta. these are the types of dishes us kids with celiac disease miss. definitely a keepah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Husband was found hastily licking the sauce from the pan, and exclaimed "this was terrible. Never make this again." So this will be a repeat. The amendments we made were we seasoned and baked chicken breasts for about 30 minutes in 400 degrees, used half and half instead of heavy cream, and went heavy on the garlic and parmesan. The sauce thickened beautifully once corn starch (mixed into a half cup of cool water to eliminate clumping) was added. Also we left out the artichoke hearts, and used 3 heads of broccoli. Next time, I'll use 4 heads of broccoli, only 4 chicken breasts will be enough, and make extra sauce. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States