Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent! A little spicy.....but that's the way I like it. I added some fresh cilantro too. This is the best turkey soup I've ever had and my husband agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We really enjoyed this! It is a recipe that is very adjustable to your taste. I started with 3 quarts of stock I had already prepared, the recipe didn't really call for a specific amount of liquid so I eyeballed the rest. I only used one can of stewed tomatoes and half the rice, which was perfect for our taste, it didn't absorb all of the liquid leaving it more like soup than stew. Didn't add the corn. We liked the hearty nature of this turkey soup and would make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This soup was amazing! I substituted pearl barley for the rice and followed the recipe otherwise. It's very spicy but not too spicy. Great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I can't believe this recipe only has 11 reviews! It's delicious! Are you looking to make soup with turkey leftovers but hate all that bland stuff that's out there? Me too. Thankfully, this is a great recipe that does not disappoint. Zippy is a great word for it--enough spice that it's 'kicked up' without being hot. After adding two cans of stewed tomatoes, I ended up adding an additional can of diced while the soup was simmering. I think next time I'll just opt for diced tomatoes as the stewed chunks seem too big in the soup. Instead of rice, I used 1/2 cup of Orzo that I had on-hand. Other than that, I followed the recipe over the course of two days. I made the broth the evening we had the turkey, refrigerated it overnight, skimmed the fat that separated, and then added all additional ingredients the next day. I already printed this and have added it to my trusty recipe binder in my kitchen. Thanks for the great soup M Vidito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a really great soup. I made up the broth, strained it and put it in the refrigerator to separate the fat and make it easy to skim off. We like spicy so I added about 1/2 tsp of chili flakes as well. Very tasty and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Excellent! Added a few other veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this with the leftover Thanksgiving turkey and it was delicious! I somewhat improvised with the spices (I didn't have any bouillons and used Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute instead of marjoram and thyme) and it turned out as more of a stew than a soup. I also made a vegetarian portion with veggie stock in a separate pan and that turned out nicely too, a really great recipe and actually quite easy! I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very good quick and tasty soup. I cut the cayenne pepper in half but it was still too spicy for my partner. I also found that it needed more stock to prevent the rice from sticking to the bottom of the pot. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCarrizosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The spices in this recipe create such an amazing flavor...I didn't have a carcass, but just put all of our leftover turkey in a pot with the bay leaves, onions, and celery leaves and simmered for an hour. Then followed the rest of it. Oh and I used wild rice instead of long grain rice. You should try it! So so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I loved it! Different from my typical Chinese turkey and rice soup (juk). I used one can of diced tomatoes and a can of red kidney beans with the liquid. I took someone's advice and used 1/2 c barley but then it wasn't enough so I added 1/2cup of elbows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States