Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent! A little spicy.....but that's the way I like it. I added some fresh cilantro too. This is the best turkey soup I've ever had and my husband agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I can't believe this recipe only has 11 reviews! It's delicious! Are you looking to make soup with turkey leftovers but hate all that bland stuff that's out there? Me too. Thankfully, this is a great recipe that does not disappoint. Zippy is a great word for it--enough spice that it's 'kicked up' without being hot. After adding two cans of stewed tomatoes, I ended up adding an additional can of diced while the soup was simmering. I think next time I'll just opt for diced tomatoes as the stewed chunks seem too big in the soup. Instead of rice, I used 1/2 cup of Orzo that I had on-hand. Other than that, I followed the recipe over the course of two days. I made the broth the evening we had the turkey, refrigerated it overnight, skimmed the fat that separated, and then added all additional ingredients the next day. I already printed this and have added it to my trusty recipe binder in my kitchen. Thanks for the great soup M Vidito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We really enjoyed this! It is a recipe that is very adjustable to your taste. I started with 3 quarts of stock I had already prepared, the recipe didn't really call for a specific amount of liquid so I eyeballed the rest. I only used one can of stewed tomatoes and half the rice, which was perfect for our taste, it didn't absorb all of the liquid leaving it more like soup than stew. Didn't add the corn. We liked the hearty nature of this turkey soup and would make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This soup was amazing! I substituted pearl barley for the rice and followed the recipe otherwise. It's very spicy but not too spicy. Great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a really great soup. I made up the broth, strained it and put it in the refrigerator to separate the fat and make it easy to skim off. We like spicy so I added about 1/2 tsp of chili flakes as well. Very tasty and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent turkey rice soup! We loved the mix of herbs and spices, and added a little extra fresh thyme. The only other change was to use one 14.5 oz. can of diced fire roasted tomatoes. Don't really need a second can. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Very tasty turkey soup. I used less cayenne pepper than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The best Turkey soup I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I didn't use ginger or marjoram and added a little cumin. Everyone asked me to make is again so it was definitely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Went

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was great I did not have ginger or the marjoram but it still had amazing flavor without, I used a can of green beans and added a jalapeno to the broth for extra spice. Yummy yummy yummy, first recipe I had for turkey soup that wasn't bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Chete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States