Zippy Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I have made this a few times--one time I substituted a different cheese (tasted much better to me with the Parmesan) and one time I intentionally made the zucchini chunkier (so so much better if they're thinly sliced as directed). So I prefer this recipe as is! My preschooler helps me make it, it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This turned out to be a very good side dish, and reviewers helped to make that happen. I only made 1/2 of the original recipe, and for my 1/2 recipe I only used 1/8 cup of oil. Used lower fat Bisquick, and added garlic powder and liquid hot pepper sauce (for a little kick). Also sprinkled the top with black pepper. Omitted any salt and didn't miss it (plenty of sodium in the Bisquick and cheese!). Do try this. It is GOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I thought this recipe was very godd. My husband said it needed a little kick. I will make again and add a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Boy! did my husband like this one. I used Bisquick and also sauteed the onion first (we like it well cooked) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. Quick and Easy. The kids liked it a bunch. My husband and I enjoyed it. I did bake it 5 minutes longer to get it a little browner. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and Bisquick Heart Smart to make it healthier and it tasted awesome. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was very tasty. I added some garlic and tabasco sauce to pep this up a bit. I also reduced amount of cheese to 1/4 cup and reduced oil to 1/4 cup as well.. very tasty still an lower fat and lower calories. I also used egg beaters and reduced fat/calorie bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I thought this was very good as is, but I also layered some sliced tomato in it and loved that. It's a good recipe to use up garden veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trzos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
since my husband has to watch his cholesterol, I only put 2 whole eggs in,and just the whites of the other two. I also added about half a cup of grated, colby/jack cheese We thought it was delicious. I will make it again, since he is growing zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandybird
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
What a nice picture, if I do say so myself. (yeah, gratuitous pat on my back for a good food picture) I liked this recipe quite a lot though I think I will continue to try and refine it. I topped it with sliced roasted red peppers and that added a nice taste. Next time I'll dice them and mix them in. I also added a half teaspoon of cayenne. My food processor was very helpful to make this. I used the slicer blade for the zucchini and the shredder side of the blade for the onion. I baked it longer than recommended and it still didn't seem 'set' in the center. I've since tried making it in a muffin pan thinking that would alleviate the mushiness but it didn't. Next time I'm spreading the stuff into a cookie sheet and baking it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I enjoyed this dish! And it's very pleasing to the eye and nose as you take it out of the oven. I kept in mind the previous reviews written here. I cooked it about 10 minutes longer so that it browned nicely and I added a 'kick' to it. Well, I added just a little more cheese, salt, other spices. I ate the leftovers cold for a snack. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States