Zippy Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Yum-o! We're new to zucchini but really enjoyed this recipe! We added 2 cloves of minced garlic and sauteed it with the onion before baking. Also eliminated the cheese due to a milk allergy in the family (used Bisquick - it's milk-free). Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Loved it! The bottom element in my stove went out, so I thought this would be a good side dish for the microwave. I cut up half of a giant zucchini I had. I didn't have parm. cheese, so I used sharp cheddar. I microwaved it for about 20 min., then put more cheese on top and put it back in for a couple more minutes. Easy, quick and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I found it to be dull & a bit dry. It certainly needs some zest of sorts. I did grill the onions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoyiebmw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was delicious and a great way to use up the zucchini in my garden. After reading other reviews, I changed up the recipe as follows: I added 1 jalapeño pepper and sauteed it along with the onion before adding them to the rest of the ingredients. Since I'm a vegetarian, I wanted to include more protein, so I chopped up 1 tofurky italian sausage link into small pieces and added it, plus I put in a couple drops of Chipotle pepper sauce to give it some zip. I didn't have any cheese in the house, but I can imagine that would've made it just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Very tasty and easy. Used a mandoline to slice zucchini very fast and evenly. I have an abundance of jalapenos in my garden, so added 2 seeded and minced red ones for heat and color. Next time, will add zucchini after other ingredients are combined, because the baking mix stuck to zucchini slices. Used butter flavor baking spray on pan, used liquid egg substitute for whole eggs, left out salt, and added fresh ground black pepper to taste to individual servings. I am vegetarian, so I sprinkled about 2/3 cup of shredded mozzerella on top for the last few minutes, for more protein. Served this with crusty garlic bread and a glass of wine. As a one dish meal, it easily served 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a great starter recipe. The changes I made were slight. I purged the zuccini, place the thin sliced zuccini on a plate lightly salt place a second plate on top and weight it down let sit for 20 minutes sqeeze off juices, it makes it lighter and cooks perfectly. I did not put any salt in the recipe because the purging adds salt. I did put a little creole to give it a zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent! My husband really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
The title and picture is what drew me to this. After making, I'm not sure where the red in the picture came from - mine looked nothing like this when done. I only had 2 zucchini which I chopped instead of sliced. I cut the recipe in half except followed the suggestion of others to add garlic powder and only 1/8c oil. I added a little Emeril's Essence and sprinkled the top with pepper. Still a little on the bland side, so next time I'll go heavier on the spices. Overall, pretty good and my very picky 11yr old even tried it and liked it which says alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was ok. I give it 4 stars though for the potential. It is a great starting point to add whatever flavors or extra ingredients you may want to add. I made it exactly as is, as I pretty much always do with any recipe. Once I know how it comes out I will then modify accordingly. Next time I will definitely add some tomatoes and something else (hot sauce or red pepper flakes maybe) for some kick. It was a little one dimensional in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Modified this for a quick main course by adding about one pound of italian sausage squished out of the casing and browned and very well drained and dabged with paper towels to remove oils. To handle the reported blandness factor I added about a tablespoon of bottled 'sweet/hot red peppers' easily found in the condiments area or at the 99cent stores. Followed the advice of others and cooked 40min. I also sweated the zucchini by sprinkling with salt after slicing and pressing with paper towels to remove excess water. Turned out darn near perfect. This will work great for potlucks or even an emergency brunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States