Zippy Turkey Tortilla Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Delicious--I really could have eaten the whole pan. I can also easily adapt it for my food-allergic daughter by splitting it into two pans, using corn tortillas and putting Daiya cheddar style sprinkles on top. I love being able to do that with regular recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
We mostly enjoyed this. After reading that the tortillas got soggy in other reviews, I decided to toast mine a bit before adding. Unfortunately, they were still soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We enjoyed this dish a lot! I have made it once with ground turkey and most recently with leftover shredded turkey. I used 1 1/2 cups of rice instead of tortillas, and instead of layering, I mixed everything together and topped with crushed tortilla chips and cheese. In addition, I reduced salsa by 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup pureed butternut squash. We are not big on spice so I reduced cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp but left all other spice measurements the same. Very yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband said "delicious" and he has discriminating tastes. As Beth suggested I used Ro-Tel tomatoes with green chilies (2 10 oz. cans) + 1 can refried beans. I used 16 oz. salsa + 1 1/4 cup chicken broth which made it a little "wet" but next time I will use brown rice instead of tortillas. The tortillas added nothing for flavor or texture! With the rice you will need that chicken broth for moisture. The spices were perfect and keep the black beans if you like "mexican"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Super easy & my kids loved it. They all grabbed seconds, which is rare. This is going to be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Added a little more cayanne and chili pepper because it needed more kick. Used spinach wraps mixed with the flour tortilla which makes the dish more colorful (and healthy.) Husband added tortilla chips to give it a little crunch. Used lots more cheese on top. Nobody knew it was ground turkey. I think I'll look for something with a little more taste and better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I thought this recipe worked in theory, but the final product is not quite there. I did accidentally pick up mango salsa instead of regular and i substituted the beans for fried eggplant (I don't like beans). The flavors in the mango salsa don't match, so don't try it. The only other problem I had was that the tortillas get too mushy when they're baked. Maybe a better idea would be to use pieces of tortilla chips or something. I felt the mushiness was kinda off-putting. I do have to say that the seasoning on the turkey and egglplant (beans if you follow the recipe) was absolutely perfect. That part was quite yummy. Overall, a few tweeks would make this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandalw00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Pretty tasty. Omit the chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe turned out great! It tasted a lot like an appetizer that we get at Applebee's. I substitued part of the salsa for Ro-Tel tomatoes with green chilies. I also omitted the chicken broth. And I added a little Mexican cheese and crunchy tortilla chips to the top. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I used ground beef and cheddar cheese. The taste is good but it's on the dry side. Having the sour cream as a garnish is an afterthought, as it's cold and doesn't blend in with flavors. It could be improved by taking out the black beans, and layering the beef and salsa on top of creamy refried beans and sour cream, and adding another layer of cheese in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States