Zippy Summer Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
SO easy. I used the frozen cooked shrimp to make it even easier. I thawed them and removed the tails then heated them up in the saute pan with red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, salt, olive oil, garlic and lemon juice. Really good with some veggies and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was very good. The flavors are balanced and you can even go a little overboard with any of the spices according to taste and not ruin anything. In my case, I added a bit more lemon juice and basil as I like that combination a lot. I made some stir fried veggies on the side and used the same recipe on those meant for the shrimp. Both then went on top of some pasta and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REBECCADK
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Just a note, this recipe is best when using patially peeled and deveined shrimp, it helps keep the flavor soaked in! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Fantastic shrimp! This recipe is a keeper. I did have to tone the zippiness down a little for us though. I used only 1 tsp. paprika and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. This was just right. I also added 1/4 cup dry white wine with the lemon juice. This made a nice sauce to serve it over pasta. Fresh basil is a must for this recipe. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I had a craving for shrimp, lemon and pasta, but didn't want to go the shrimp scampi route tonight. My boyfriend and I were very pleased with this dish! I served it over sauteed pasta (olive oil, sea salt & cracked black pepper). Everything was fabulous, I had to create an account to tell you!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenKitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this for a cocktail party as an appetizer. I was still working the grill when my wife informed me that all four pounds of shrimp were gone. From what I've heard they were fantastic and I can guarantee you that my guests raved about them. Even my kids asked if I could make it again because they didn't get enough. The only changed that I made was to cook these on the grill and the flavor the char adds made these incredible (so I'm told) Good luck and enjoy! I wish I got to. I wrote a similar review for Spicy Grilled Shrimp in error... these are the REAL DEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This dish quickly became one our favorite shrimp meals. My hubby now requests this pretty often. I've tried this with both large and small shrimp and the large shrimp is definitely the way to go. The smaller shrimp SEVERELY dumbs down the flavor and nobody wants that. Also, it was a tad too spicy for me (perfect for my husband) so I now use 1/4 tsp of pepper flakes and he can pour on as many as he likes on his plate afterwards :). For shrimp, we also always buy deveined and preferably with tails off for less work and its perfect if you're short on time. Also, for us, there wasn't enough sauce to really seep into the pasta, so I kept all as is except used 1 pound of shrimp instead of 2 and poured it over 1 pound of pasta (equivalent to doubling the sauce). Don't be scared with so many seasonings in this...it works beautifully. Delicious, easy and is ready in such a short time it deserves all 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
fast and easy. I used a lot less lemon juice than the recipe asked for, probably about 4 Tablespoons or so. I also added a lot more salt than I usually use. When the lemon juice is added to the butter and oil it makes a very nice sauce. I served over steamed rice with broccoli and poured the sauce over all. We also ate thai hot chili garlic sauce with it. A very adaptable recipe I'll use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
First, let me say that Hubs’ and my heat tolerance level with spices is “Coward.” That said, I eliminated the cayenne pepper altogether and we found this “zippy” enough without it. Besides, I used a nice, smoky paprika (Penzey’s) which gave this all the flavor we needed. I expected to dislike it, actually, thinking the amount of paprika would be more than we’d prefer, but it was right on. The basil gave this a nice, clean, fresh finish. I served this over lobster ravioli, but a rice pilaf or pasta with garlic and olive oil would have been nice too. Zucchini Provencale, also from this site, completed our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
Thank you Rebecca! The seasonings are perfect. I'm sure I will make this many more times. The only prob I had was it says to cook the garlic on high heat. I scorched my first batch of oil and garlic and had to start over. Oops, where was my common sense?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States