Zippy Summer Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very easy and quick to cook. I substituted one small red pepper instead of red pepper flakes and they were a tad too spicy for me. The flavor is great, but it's not fantastic. Maybe I'll try it a couple of more times and see how it could be made better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
First, let me say that Hubs’ and my heat tolerance level with spices is “Coward.” That said, I eliminated the cayenne pepper altogether and we found this “zippy” enough without it. Besides, I used a nice, smoky paprika (Penzey’s) which gave this all the flavor we needed. I expected to dislike it, actually, thinking the amount of paprika would be more than we’d prefer, but it was right on. The basil gave this a nice, clean, fresh finish. I served this over lobster ravioli, but a rice pilaf or pasta with garlic and olive oil would have been nice too. Zucchini Provencale, also from this site, completed our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
this is the best shrimp recipe that i have used and eatin in years!!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgrantham21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I made just like it said except I used crushed garlic instead, as that's what I had. Great recipe. My family who enjoys spicy and thought it was great. I thought it was a bit spicy, but I'm a sissy. (For reference,Medium salsa is the best I can do and sometimes that's too hot) This recipe is so very diet friendy that that's why I made it. Served over brown rice with a nice salad. This is a keeper that I will come back to again and again. Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Delicious and easy! We were really wowed by all the flavor and the ease of putting it together. Healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Simple, good, and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
this is so good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Pretty good, I will make it again but will cut the lemon juice in half. I realized after I served it that I forgot to add any salt, but the sour lemon taste was so overwhelming that it almost simulated the taste of salt... in balance it would be good but according to the recipe was too overwhelming (I used bottled lemon juice). Otherwise a nice, light, healthy meal. I recommend cooking other veggies with it and serving over brown rice or another starch. I definitely did not find it filling enough to eat about 10 large shirmp with a side of green beans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was tasty, I used less lemon then called for and used butter in the place of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
UPDATE: MADE THIS AGAIN PAIRED WITH SOWMYA'S CARROT RICE! DELISH!!! THE SUBTLE SWEETNESS OF THE RICE COMPLEMENTED MY SHRIMP NICELY! I ALSO ADDED A TOUCH MORE LEMON JUICE THIS TIME (PERFECT!). SUPERB (which is a great feat considering that every time I cook shrimp, I end up with nothing short of a bland outcome)!!! Having said this, I did feel that the flavors were somewhat unbalanced. My shrimp were super spicy with very little "zip." They were also unbelievably messy to eat! As Rebecca suggested (see her review), I left my shrimp partially peeled. Yes, this helped to lock in a LOT of flavor, but they were a real pain to shell after they were coated in sauce. On the contrary, my hubs thought peeling tableside was a non issue (I guess I'm a whimp lol!). Now, about the missing oomph.... The lemon juice definitely adds a bit of tang. This recipe wouldn't be the same without it, so don't leave it out! NOTE: Keep in mind that Spanish paprika is smoky, whereas the more common Hungarian variety is sweet. There are many types, all with differing heat intensities - so chose wisely! :) A seasoned summer veggie blend, garlic herb rice and French bread (for mopping up the extra sauce!) rounded out our fuss-free meal. This will be a perfect to turn to when I'm in need of an easy and quick weeknight meal. That alone elevates this to star quality, IMHO. Thanks for sharing your recipe, REBECCADK! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States