Zippy Summer Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Tried this last. Used dried basil instead of fresh and put it over angel hair pasta with Italian tomatoes added a bit if broccoli and it came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was excellent! I only made a small amount with some frozen cooked shrimp that I wanted to move, if you know what I mean. I can only imagine how much better it would be with uncooked shrimp! I was a little leery about the basil, but that, along with the lemon, were the best and most prevalent flavors. The heat added to it in a good way as well. Delicious! Thanks REBECCADK! (Now, bring on summer!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Mmmm, loved this! So quick and easy with ingredients I have on hand. Love that! The spice was nice, hubby really enjoyed this too. I was in a hurry and ate it by itself, but will serve over pasta next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Best shrimp ever and I don't like seafood at all but this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Delicious, fast, and lovely on the plate. Followed recipe EXACTLY, and served over white rice -- YUM! Love! Then, I used this recipe as a "go to base recipe" when I didn't have lemons or fresh basil on hand (just the other half of that bag of frozen shrimp in the freezer) Followed exactly for as long as I could -- added shrimp to the pan of evoo, slivered garlic, pepper flakes, paprika --- then to create a "steaming effect" instead of lemon juice i did a few shakes of rice-wine vinegar over the shrimp and put a lid on the saute pan ---- VOILA! served them over rice --- delish. (personally, i missed the fresh bright taste of the basil & lemon, but my friend who hadn't had it the "real way" thought it was awesome --- i did too, actually)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious, but there were a few changes I'll make next time. I felt like it could have used more spice; Either red pepper, basil, or both. I also think I'll tone down the lemon juice next time, it was a little intense to me. Other than that, quick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is so delicious! Great flavor and a bit spicy - just the way I like it! I served it over angel hair pasta. Will definitely make again and again. The recipe was so easy and it only took me about 15 minutes to make. Can't wait to try it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
OMG, it was really good. Instead of regular basil, I used lemon basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nataly Dmitrieva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was awesome, the fiance and I both loved it. Some extra water went into my pan while adding the shrimp, so I ended up removing the shrimp when they were done cooking and reducing the residual broth (and adding a little flour) to make it a thicker sauce for the shrimp. It was great over rice pilaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
The reviews that were most helpful to me were the ones that called this recipe "too subtle" . I love shrimp for the flavor of the shrimp and some sauces overpower them. This is something I will make again and again. The "zippy" was noticeable to me, hub said he would like his more so he will adjust after. Definitely will make these again. We are both on Weight Watchers so shrimp is a "pig out" food. I bought 2, 2 pound bags of the jumbo shrimp and went by count as opposed to the weight. Didn't double the sauce and it was perfect for 60 shrimp. We left some of the sauce in the pan because of the amount of oil so my count of 20 shrimp (3 of us eating this) for 10 points was probably even a little high. Someone mentioned that these were good grilled. I bet they are - yum! Going to try that next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlstadt, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States