Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My loving wife complained from the first moment she heard the word "curry" until she was finished the 3rd bowl. If i would have told her the original recipe had ketchup in it, she would have freaked out! she mentioned that the curry was making her thirsty and sleepy. i prevailed, though, and kept a cool head the entire time. by the end of the night we both had several bowls full of this delightful dish, even my cat was licking the bowl clean!! and guess what? the cat didnt complain one bit. :D i would definitely make this again, only next time i will not mention any of the ingredients. i will simply put the plate in front of her mouth and say, "EAT!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrChicken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
The flavor in this pie was excellent. However, the whole can of beef broth in the mixture made it difficult to thicken, even with extra cornstarch. I would also increase the potatoes to 1 1/2 or 2 lbs. if you like a lot of potatoes. But I am definitely planning on making this again with half a can of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe has excellent flavor and is easy to make. I agree with the other review, that the curry adds zip to recipe. I used sharp white cheddar for a good cheese flavor. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
YUMMY! This recipe ROCKS. Made it pretty close to the original recipe. Omitted red bell pepper (didn't have). Used a can of drained diced tomatoes in place of the fresh. Left the skins on the potatoes and mashed them with extra milk and real butter. Instead of the cornstarch and water, I added a packet of brown gravy mix to the beef broth. For the vegetables I used frozen corn, peas, carrots and aspargus. I layered the bottom of the casserole dish with potatoes then the filling with another layer of potatoes on top. Used a combination of shredded colby and cheddar cheese for the topping. Baked at 30 minutes at 375 degrees. This was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
A favourite of my family. I prefer to use fresh vegetables instead of frozen and some extra potatoes. Also I add some extra cheese to the potatoes when mashed or some sour cream for extra flavour. A little parmesan cheese added to the other cheese before browning is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Wyalong, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Tin Can Bay, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Super tasty! I like a lot of flavor in my food and this is very flavorful! My boyfriend really likes it, I made it a few weeks ago and then he requested I make it again when he had a friend over this past weekend. This is now the only recipe for Shepherd's pie I want to use. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Wilds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Lord have mercy this was good! I followed the recipe, except for substituting the "package" of peas & carrots for 1 can peas/carrots and 1 can creamed corn. I topped the beef/carrot mixture with the can of creamed corn once in the casserole dish, I didn't heat together in the skillet; The creamed corn tasted like heaven mixed with the saltiness from the Soy Sauce and tang from the Worcestershire. Do try! I had a similar dish at The Shed Brewery in Stowe, VT. However, they top theirs with Cabot Sharp White Cheddar. I recommend using this if you have access to it (in the specialty cheese section @ your grocery store). I ended up using medium cheddar and it was fabulous- but will definitely splurge next time on Cabot Sharp White Cheddar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made Shepherd's pie for my husband and 16 month old for the first time tonight using this recipe...they both loved it! I thought it was good too. I omitted the tomato and red pepper, because I did not have on hand, and added some precooked ground pork sausage. I put in the full amount of curry and thought it really added something to the dish. This was fairly easy, and very tasty. My husband had seconds and asked me to make it with double the meat next time (?) Not sure I will do that but at least he wants to have it again :-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I made this for my English brother-in-law and he raved about this all night. He especially liked the additition of the curry powder. My own family liked it very much as well. We will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I love shepherd's pie and was anxious to try this variation. However, this was just okay for me. I thought there was way too much of the veggies in proportion to the meat and even though I like curry, I didn't particularly care for it here. Clearly, I'm in the minority though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States