Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe! Can't wait to have it again! The curry really adds a terrific kick! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This recipe has excellent flavor and is easy to make. I agree with the other review, that the curry adds zip to recipe. I used sharp white cheddar for a good cheese flavor. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
THis was delicious!! I used groud turkey, and it turned out great! The sharp cheddar made it mmm,,,mmm,,, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This was O.K.-but next time would either omit the curry all together or drastically reduce it, we found it to be almost overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This is a terrific recipe!! My family really enjoyed it. The flavor of the curry adds a lot of depth and kick. Nothing against the last reviewer, but we didn't find the curry overwhelming at all, but everyone has different tastes. I would definately recommend this to all! Thanks for a wonderful posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This recipe is FANTASTIC! My husband loved it and couldn't get enough! I had 2 helpings and usually don't eat a lot of ground beef. The spices are just right. Very flavorful! Simple and delicious! YUMMY! Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
The flavor in this pie was excellent. However, the whole can of beef broth in the mixture made it difficult to thicken, even with extra cornstarch. I would also increase the potatoes to 1 1/2 or 2 lbs. if you like a lot of potatoes. But I am definitely planning on making this again with half a can of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is one of my favorite recipes from Allrecipes. A great dish for warming up on a cold day. The flavoring from the ketchup, Worcestershire, soy sauce and beef broth is the part I never change because I love it. I may make changes with the veggies or how I make the mashed potatoes, but I do not mess with the sauce. My husband loves this dish, too. If you are hesitant about the curry just start with a bit less. Really though, a tsp. of mild curry is not that much and it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This was a very easy recipe to make, but the flavor wasn't all there for me. Maybe it's just my tastes, but I probably won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I made this for my English brother-in-law and he raved about this all night. He especially liked the additition of the curry powder. My own family liked it very much as well. We will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States