Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I love this so much. It is easy, flexible and always a family pleaser. I don't think you can mess it up. I usually use veggie crumbles or tempeh but this time I actually mashed up some veggie meat balls because that is what I had on hand and it worked out well. I usually use a frozen veggies mix with peas, carrots, and corn because I usually have that on hand and the corn is great in it. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and veggie broth instead of beef. I skip the bell pepper beacause I don't think I'd like bell pepper in something like this. You can use regular curry powder or hot curry powder and even add cayanne pepper to heat it up more. How can you go wrong with this? Just tailor it to your tastes and what you have on hand. If you like mashed potatoes, curries, cheese, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was good! Even my 7 year old ate it! :) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Add I or 2 more potatoes for top. I baked at 350 for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
i liked it but hubby didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
SOOOO Good!! I didn't give it 4 stars b/c i was disappointed that it wasn't more firm out of the oven. I think the mashed potatoes would've had the chance to "dry out" a little if I baked the entire casserole rather than have just broiled it for 5 minutes. Followed recipe EXACTLY -- was sooo tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
this was a great tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was okay. I followed the recipe exactly except for curry powder. My chief complaint is that it was runny and didn't thicken despite the use of cornstarch. It was "sloppy" when I scooped it out--everything ran all over the plate. Flavor was good. I made this for my husband and in-laws and no one seemed to care for it--no seconds for anyone. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I am not a big fan of shepherds pie cause I find it too bland. This had a lot of flavor and a nice gravy. Nobody even asked for the ketchup and that is usually a must, with Shepherds pie, in our house. I used 2 lbs of beef, skipped the pepper, added 1tsp of chili garlic sauce for some heat, next time will increase to 2tsp. Used frozen mixed veggies, so simmered a little longer because green beans take longer to cook. I boiled the potatoes,(I used 6 med/large) with some butternut squash for the extra vitamins, using 1/3 butternut squash to 2/3 potatoes, mashed together with butter, maybe I didn't drain properly or the squash changed the consistency, but I did not add the milk. Gives it a nice light orange color. Topped with the sharp white cheddar (though any other cheddar may do, this type of cheese is a must in my opinion) and put in the oven at 400 until the cheese was golden. I did not think the casserole would be hot enough if I only broiled.It was very good, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Only one up of broth need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States