Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I was actually really impressed with this recipe !!! The whole family liked it . I would change the amount of beef broth next time to maybe 6 ounces only. ;)other than that very good . Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
It was just OK for me. The amount of beef broth needs to be reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I didn't add tomatoes or crushed garlic - used garlic powder instead. I also used 5 large potatoes and sprinkles of the curry powder. I did add more cornstarch than the recipe calls for. If this is your first time trying this out - don't worry. it's a very flexible recipe and if you like sheperd's pie you'll know the flavor you're after so don't be afraid to add a little bit more or less of whatever works for your palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Really really good!!! I added corn and it was delicious. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great base for me ... I added extra garlic and grated carrots and celery and mushrooms, as well as corn and peas ... I never measure anything and just sautéed it all together ... I added ranch and cheese to the potatoes as well as put a layer of grated cheddar between the meat and potato layers... Lots of hot sauce, soya sauce and worchestire sauce ... Hubby and the boys ate it and almost had no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
OMG! This was amazing and pretty easy! :D will definitely be having it again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Great recipe. Shepherd's pie is usually not my favorite because of the dull and heavy flavors. This was excellent! The soy and Worcestershire sauce made it anything but bland and the tomatoes and curry brightened up the whole dish. Very nicely balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
So delicious! I made it with a combination of turkey sausage and ground lamb. I can't have cheese right now and I didn't even miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I thicken my meat mixture with gravy granules, it makes it spicy without having to add ketchup. I also add wine to the meat whilst it is browining. I also add cheese to the potato and it makes it cheesy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This Rock's - I increased the serving size by 50% and my boys (17 & 13) each ate 3 helpings. I'll have to double the recipe next time so we have leftovers :) I didn't have a red pepper but I had some leftover sauted peppers and onions I threw in with a can of mushrooms. Fantastic fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES1031

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States