Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
4 stars for Flavor + 1 star for Quick & Easy. Maybe one more star for Comfort Food. This dish was very easy to make, and can easily feed 6 people. Just like another review, I cheated and used instant mashed potatoes. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Wilke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made it before following the instructions and it was awesome. I've had this terrible craving for shepherd's pie lately, but my dad's diabetic and I was just restraining myself from making it. Then I noticed another recipe that substituted mashed cauliflower on top and jumped at the chance to do that with this recipe. HOLY COW is it amazing! I just boiled and mashed a whole head of cauli; stirred in about a 1/4 pkg of cream cheese and 2 tbsp butter, salt n pepper; put that on top of the meaty pie and dumped a generous amount of sharp cheddar on top of that and in the oven (400 for 20-30 mins depending on if you let yours cool beforehand-- I prepped mine in advance of dinner time). I cannot reiterate how awesome this recipe is prepared like that! Great diabetic substitution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe. It is delicious... But I did make some adjustments. Instead of using curry, I used Sazon, half a pouch. I used can tomatoes instead of fresh. I used instant mashed potatoes instead of fresh as well. The flavor was amazing despite the changes. I agree with other users about the amount of beef broth, so I cut that into a half cup. It was still a lot. Instead of broiling I baked for 30 mins on 350. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I was unsure of the curry and wished I'd only used half of what the recipe calls for as I didn't care for it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie Zorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Followers the recipe. This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I read the reviews first, so I seasoned the meat with garlic salt, and black and red pepper as it cooked. I also used about 2-3x more of the catsup, curry, soy, and Worcestershire sauce because I like bold flavors. I'm not sure how much because I just kept adding until it tasted right. I also used leftover mashed potatoes that had butter, cream cheese, and garlic salt. I don't think this really changed the flavor much because the sauce is what really gives this recipe its Zing. This is a great recipe that you can customize to your individual tastes. I love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was really quite nasty, my husband and I both agreed it was the worst thing I had ever prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was my first time making shepherds pie, it was great! I did use fresh carrots and replaced peas with corn! I also used 1 1/2 pounds of hamburger opposed to just 1 pound. It was a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I make this all the time! It is my favorite recipe! The curry is not overwhelming at all and makes the dish amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
reduce curry by 1/3 next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States