Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
We thought this was good. Leftovers I bet will taste even better. If there is any, not much left in the dish! No bell pepper, and added abt 1/2 tsp extra curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Zippy Shepherd Pie Haiku: "I make the same way, but cinnamon, not curry. But this was still good!" An old British pal of mine told me that it's referred to as "Cottage Pie" when it's with meat and not lamb, and he also taught me of the magical transformation that occurs in said pie when a little bit of cinnamon is added. This recipe is darn near identical to the one that I make on occasion, but it's curry instead of cinnamon, so I thought "let's try it with a different spice!" We were delighted with the results, even having gone the cheater way with instant mashed potatoes on top. Very filling, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Unbelieveably good! Husband gives it 6 stars! The only thing I modified was to omit tomatoes and bell pepper. I added diced baby carrots in with the onion and later added 1c cooked corn and 1c frozen peas when the beef broth was boiling. Delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrittanyO
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this with my boyfriend a few times! We forgo the tomatoes (neither of us are fans of tomatoes) and he makes the mashed potatoes his own way with bigger chunks and a little more firm. We love the bell pepper in the recipe and crisp it all up in the cast iron pan he cooked the meat in. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
In the past, I never care for Shepherd's Pie but my husband loves it, so I came to this site and found this wonderful recipe. My husband liked very much and now I do too. It was super easy and very, very good. I didn't change anything, I followed it line by line. I recommend to use the curry, people who doesn't like curry won't realize it has curry but it gives it a kick. I will fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made extra potatoes, because I love mashed potatoes! Also, I used red pepper flakes and extra worcestershire sauce in the beef mixture. Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very yummy! Like others, I prefer fresh veg to canned or frozen. I added steamed fresh green beans, and for the ground beef, I put chunks of a mid-quality steak in the food processor. Very nice comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So good! Will make again for sure!!! Good home cooking right here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My family loved it. Did not add curry because it's not our favorite spice. Put vegetables in food processor to finely chop and not sure if that caused it to have quite a bit of liquid. Cooked it down a little longer than suggested. End result, a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States