Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nancy
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this recipe as it is called for with the exception of taking it light on the beef broth. It was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a fan of vegetables or curry but this made his day. He says this dish is also called "Potato Surprise". I would recommend it to anybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was my first ever attempt at Shepards Pie. I left out the peppers and the curry, as I knew it wouldn't go over around here. I thought it was really tasty, in fact, even saved the left overs and ate every last bite. The kids ate what I served to them at dinner, but said it wouldn't hurt their feelings if I never made it again. Hubs didn't care for it at all. If it were just me, I'd make it again, but since no one else was thrilled, I'll probably skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maalrif78
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
The curry flavor is amazing! This recipe is phenomenal!! This recipe was my first attempt at making shepherds pie, and I doubt I will ever like anyone else's! My husband loved it! He kept begging me to make it again!! I've made it twice so far and plan to make it again soon. One slight difference, I added ranch dressing in the mashed potatoes for a little more flavor and added the cheese right into mashed instead of on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Excellent! Followed the recipe almost exactly. Couldn't find the package of just peas and carrots, so I bought a package of mixed veggies (peas, carrots, green beans and corn) and it came out fantastic! The wife loved it. Will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Omg!! I had never made shepards pie before. The first time I didn't get it thick enough, so the second time I made it I added more cornstarch. About another 2 tblspoons. It came out perfect. I also play with it a it and add different veggies. It's always good no matter what veggis , but the cooked carrot is so far my families favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Finally found a great version that we all liked! We made as described, but next time we will use a gravy packet to make the broth/sauce thicker. We didn't use peas and carrots as we didn't have any so we used mushrooms and corn. Tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisagabriel1112
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made it as is but with ground lamb and corn added to the peas and carrots. Used about 2.5 lbs of golden potatoes. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Only variation I made was using green pepper instead of red because it's what I had on hand. Have done this recipe twice now and it was a hit each time. This is definitely going into the winter meal rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This turned out really tasty! I followed the recipe pretty closely. I omitted the tomatoes altogether because I didn't have any, and we don't like cooked tomatoes much anyway. I know several other reviewers have said that it was too soupy with an entire can of broth, but I used a whole 14.5oz can of chicken broth (rather than beef) and it was fine, but maybe that's because I didn't have any added moisture from the tomatoes? This ended up being a much bigger pie than I expected, so I had to put it in a 13x9 pan because my casserole dishes were too small (I probably also used more mashed potatoes than the recipe) but all that really means is that I'll have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and that's okay with me. Also, I recommend baking it long enough to get it bubbly rather than just broiling for 3-5 min, but that's just personal preference. I served it to the kids after just broiling, but then when the hubby and I were ready to eat we baked it for about 20 min @ 350 degrees. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Michaels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States