Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made it before following the instructions and it was awesome. I've had this terrible craving for shepherd's pie lately, but my dad's diabetic and I was just restraining myself from making it. Then I noticed another recipe that substituted mashed cauliflower on top and jumped at the chance to do that with this recipe. HOLY COW is it amazing! I just boiled and mashed a whole head of cauli; stirred in about a 1/4 pkg of cream cheese and 2 tbsp butter, salt n pepper; put that on top of the meaty pie and dumped a generous amount of sharp cheddar on top of that and in the oven (400 for 20-30 mins depending on if you let yours cool beforehand-- I prepped mine in advance of dinner time). I cannot reiterate how awesome this recipe is prepared like that! Great diabetic substitution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe. It is delicious... But I did make some adjustments. Instead of using curry, I used Sazon, half a pouch. I used can tomatoes instead of fresh. I used instant mashed potatoes instead of fresh as well. The flavor was amazing despite the changes. I agree with other users about the amount of beef broth, so I cut that into a half cup. It was still a lot. Instead of broiling I baked for 30 mins on 350. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I was unsure of the curry and wished I'd only used half of what the recipe calls for as I didn't care for it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Followers the recipe. This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I read the reviews first, so I seasoned the meat with garlic salt, and black and red pepper as it cooked. I also used about 2-3x more of the catsup, curry, soy, and Worcestershire sauce because I like bold flavors. I'm not sure how much because I just kept adding until it tasted right. I also used leftover mashed potatoes that had butter, cream cheese, and garlic salt. I don't think this really changed the flavor much because the sauce is what really gives this recipe its Zing. This is a great recipe that you can customize to your individual tastes. I love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was really quite nasty, my husband and I both agreed it was the worst thing I had ever prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was my first time making shepherds pie, it was great! I did use fresh carrots and replaced peas with corn! I also used 1 1/2 pounds of hamburger opposed to just 1 pound. It was a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I make this all the time! It is my favorite recipe! The curry is not overwhelming at all and makes the dish amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
reduce curry by 1/3 next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Too much broth. Next time I'm going to use half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States