Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. A tip: make it the day before you want to eat it. I thought it was a little soupy when it was fresh out of the oven, but a night in the fridge firmed it up and the reheated portion was MAGNIFICENT. I'll 100% be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
While preparing this, I realized there was more "filling" than I thought the two of us needed. I filled two casseroles and topped one with the mashed potatoes. I then made more potatoes and used then on the second casserole. I topped with grated cheddar then mixed some parmesan and panko and sprinkled over the very top. The pie was only ok for me because of the curry, although my husband loved it. Next time I think I'll try cutting the curry in half. the panko/parm topping was awesome. The second pie is in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Made exactly as recipe called for. It was delish! Next time I'll double the meat and double the potatoes and make in a 9x13 dish. We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe was very tasty, but it did not turn out exactly as I had hoped. I thought there was a little too much curry. Next time, I will cut back the curry in half. Mine also came out a little too watery, so I would add less beef stock. Lastly, 1 lb of potatoes was not nearly enough (I used sweet potatoes), and I did not have enough to spread over the dish. I would use at least 2 lbs or about 4 large potatoes. Other than the few shortcomings that may have been my fault, it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baldwin, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was delicious!I substituted only because I didn't have on hand: Beef "Better Than Bouillon"/water for Beef broth, chopped parsnip and fresh peas and carrots for frozen,1/2 t curry + 1/2 t tumeric for 1 t curry. The reduction in curry, as my husband's not a fan.I think the addition of the parsnip and tumeric gave this a mild sweet flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
4 stars for Flavor + 1 star for Quick & Easy. Maybe one more star for Comfort Food. This dish was very easy to make, and can easily feed 6 people. Just like another review, I cheated and used instant mashed potatoes. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Wilke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made it before following the instructions and it was awesome. I've had this terrible craving for shepherd's pie lately, but my dad's diabetic and I was just restraining myself from making it. Then I noticed another recipe that substituted mashed cauliflower on top and jumped at the chance to do that with this recipe. HOLY COW is it amazing! I just boiled and mashed a whole head of cauli; stirred in about a 1/4 pkg of cream cheese and 2 tbsp butter, salt n pepper; put that on top of the meaty pie and dumped a generous amount of sharp cheddar on top of that and in the oven (400 for 20-30 mins depending on if you let yours cool beforehand-- I prepped mine in advance of dinner time). I cannot reiterate how awesome this recipe is prepared like that! Great diabetic substitution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe. It is delicious... But I did make some adjustments. Instead of using curry, I used Sazon, half a pouch. I used can tomatoes instead of fresh. I used instant mashed potatoes instead of fresh as well. The flavor was amazing despite the changes. I agree with other users about the amount of beef broth, so I cut that into a half cup. It was still a lot. Instead of broiling I baked for 30 mins on 350. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I was unsure of the curry and wished I'd only used half of what the recipe calls for as I didn't care for it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Followers the recipe. This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States