Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
&&&&&
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
We had this for dinner tonight, and it was hard to leave a little bit leftover for my husband's lunch tomorrow! I did modify slightly. I used only a half pound of beef, just to cut back on cost and to make it a little healthier. I added a cup of frozen green beans and a cup of frozen corn and only used 1.5 cups of peas/carrots. Also, like others, I didn't have red pepper in the house, so I just left that out. I wasn't sure if I'd like the curry powder, so I only added a half tsp instead of a whole tsp, and I think that was just right for us. (I'm not a big fan of curry powder, but it was very subtle with only a half tsp.) I also added only one cup of beef broth instead of 14oz, and I did still have to add a little more cornstarch to thicken it properly. I used boxed potatoes, too, since I had those in the house. My family really enjoyed it, and I'll definitely be making it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This is definitely a family favorite! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This was good... I did add more of ALL the seasonings. Next time I think I may add a little more mashed potato, cuz we love lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Gardner Vance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was awesome! I made it exactly as the recipe and it was delicious! My husband hates curry so I did not tell him it was in the recipe and he loved it. A keeper for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancy
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this recipe as it is called for with the exception of taking it light on the beef broth. It was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a fan of vegetables or curry but this made his day. He says this dish is also called "Potato Surprise". I would recommend it to anybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was my first ever attempt at Shepards Pie. I left out the peppers and the curry, as I knew it wouldn't go over around here. I thought it was really tasty, in fact, even saved the left overs and ate every last bite. The kids ate what I served to them at dinner, but said it wouldn't hurt their feelings if I never made it again. Hubs didn't care for it at all. If it were just me, I'd make it again, but since no one else was thrilled, I'll probably skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maalrif78
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
The curry flavor is amazing! This recipe is phenomenal!! This recipe was my first attempt at making shepherds pie, and I doubt I will ever like anyone else's! My husband loved it! He kept begging me to make it again!! I've made it twice so far and plan to make it again soon. One slight difference, I added ranch dressing in the mashed potatoes for a little more flavor and added the cheese right into mashed instead of on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Excellent! Followed the recipe almost exactly. Couldn't find the package of just peas and carrots, so I bought a package of mixed veggies (peas, carrots, green beans and corn) and it came out fantastic! The wife loved it. Will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Omg!! I had never made shepards pie before. The first time I didn't get it thick enough, so the second time I made it I added more cornstarch. About another 2 tblspoons. It came out perfect. I also play with it a it and add different veggies. It's always good no matter what veggis , but the cooked carrot is so far my families favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States