Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This turned out really tasty! I followed the recipe pretty closely. I omitted the tomatoes altogether because I didn't have any, and we don't like cooked tomatoes much anyway. I know several other reviewers have said that it was too soupy with an entire can of broth, but I used a whole 14.5oz can of chicken broth (rather than beef) and it was fine, but maybe that's because I didn't have any added moisture from the tomatoes? This ended up being a much bigger pie than I expected, so I had to put it in a 13x9 pan because my casserole dishes were too small (I probably also used more mashed potatoes than the recipe) but all that really means is that I'll have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and that's okay with me. Also, I recommend baking it long enough to get it bubbly rather than just broiling for 3-5 min, but that's just personal preference. I served it to the kids after just broiling, but then when the hubby and I were ready to eat we baked it for about 20 min @ 350 degrees. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Michaels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I made it with double the amount of potatoes. This seemed like the right amount. I can't imagine that 1 lb of potato is enough. The spice mixture didn't seem right for shepherd's pie. It was OK but I will use a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. A tip: make it the day before you want to eat it. I thought it was a little soupy when it was fresh out of the oven, but a night in the fridge firmed it up and the reheated portion was MAGNIFICENT. I'll 100% be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
While preparing this, I realized there was more "filling" than I thought the two of us needed. I filled two casseroles and topped one with the mashed potatoes. I then made more potatoes and used then on the second casserole. I topped with grated cheddar then mixed some parmesan and panko and sprinkled over the very top. The pie was only ok for me because of the curry, although my husband loved it. Next time I think I'll try cutting the curry in half. the panko/parm topping was awesome. The second pie is in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Made exactly as recipe called for. It was delish! Next time I'll double the meat and double the potatoes and make in a 9x13 dish. We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe was very tasty, but it did not turn out exactly as I had hoped. I thought there was a little too much curry. Next time, I will cut back the curry in half. Mine also came out a little too watery, so I would add less beef stock. Lastly, 1 lb of potatoes was not nearly enough (I used sweet potatoes), and I did not have enough to spread over the dish. I would use at least 2 lbs or about 4 large potatoes. Other than the few shortcomings that may have been my fault, it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Sottile-Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin, Maryland, USA
Living In: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was delicious!I substituted only because I didn't have on hand: Beef "Better Than Bouillon"/water for Beef broth, chopped parsnip and fresh peas and carrots for frozen,1/2 t curry + 1/2 t tumeric for 1 t curry. The reduction in curry, as my husband's not a fan.I think the addition of the parsnip and tumeric gave this a mild sweet flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
4 stars for Flavor + 1 star for Quick & Easy. Maybe one more star for Comfort Food. This dish was very easy to make, and can easily feed 6 people. Just like another review, I cheated and used instant mashed potatoes. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Wilke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made it before following the instructions and it was awesome. I've had this terrible craving for shepherd's pie lately, but my dad's diabetic and I was just restraining myself from making it. Then I noticed another recipe that substituted mashed cauliflower on top and jumped at the chance to do that with this recipe. HOLY COW is it amazing! I just boiled and mashed a whole head of cauli; stirred in about a 1/4 pkg of cream cheese and 2 tbsp butter, salt n pepper; put that on top of the meaty pie and dumped a generous amount of sharp cheddar on top of that and in the oven (400 for 20-30 mins depending on if you let yours cool beforehand-- I prepped mine in advance of dinner time). I cannot reiterate how awesome this recipe is prepared like that! Great diabetic substitution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe. It is delicious... But I did make some adjustments. Instead of using curry, I used Sazon, half a pouch. I used can tomatoes instead of fresh. I used instant mashed potatoes instead of fresh as well. The flavor was amazing despite the changes. I agree with other users about the amount of beef broth, so I cut that into a half cup. It was still a lot. Instead of broiling I baked for 30 mins on 350. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States