Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The men loved it but the women thought it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe--a huge hit at our house. I've made it 3-4 times already and wouldn't change a thing. Much better flavor than others I have tried. Thanks for sharing, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was absolutely delicious, with a couple small modifications. Cut the curry powder in half. 1 teaspoon is too strong, half a teaspoon adds just the right amount of "zip". The flavours are really different and untraditional, but so yummy! Also I use flour instead of corn starch, I find it makes a better texture: after cooking the meat and vegetables, add about a third of a cup of flour and stir it in. Then add the liquid. It was so delicious and I will definitely add it to my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Much less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
We thought this was good. Leftovers I bet will taste even better. If there is any, not much left in the dish! No bell pepper, and added abt 1/2 tsp extra curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Zippy Shepherd Pie Haiku: "I make the same way, but cinnamon, not curry. But this was still good!" An old British pal of mine told me that it's referred to as "Cottage Pie" when it's with meat and not lamb, and he also taught me of the magical transformation that occurs in said pie when a little bit of cinnamon is added. This recipe is darn near identical to the one that I make on occasion, but it's curry instead of cinnamon, so I thought "let's try it with a different spice!" We were delighted with the results, even having gone the cheater way with instant mashed potatoes on top. Very filling, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Unbelieveably good! Husband gives it 6 stars! The only thing I modified was to omit tomatoes and bell pepper. I added diced baby carrots in with the onion and later added 1c cooked corn and 1c frozen peas when the beef broth was boiling. Delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrittanyO
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this with my boyfriend a few times! We forgo the tomatoes (neither of us are fans of tomatoes) and he makes the mashed potatoes his own way with bigger chunks and a little more firm. We love the bell pepper in the recipe and crisp it all up in the cast iron pan he cooked the meat in. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
In the past, I never care for Shepherd's Pie but my husband loves it, so I came to this site and found this wonderful recipe. My husband liked very much and now I do too. It was super easy and very, very good. I didn't change anything, I followed it line by line. I recommend to use the curry, people who doesn't like curry won't realize it has curry but it gives it a kick. I will fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States