Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Only one up of broth need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I used Garam Masala instead of Curry powder and tossed in some Tumeric too since I love Indian food. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae Weeks
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We loved this. I made as written except for changing out some vegetables. No peppers or peas & carrots but I added mushrooms. Tomatoes are hard to come by in the winter so I drained a can of fire roasted tomatoes and used that. This recipe has a depth of flavor that I have never had in shepherd's pie before. I was scared of the curry and shouldn't have been. It just adds the much needed kick that shepherd's pie needs! We will be making this every time we have leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was a great Shepherds Pie. I liked the different flavor from the curry. I omitted the bell pepper. I added diced tomatoes from a can. It never did thicken though from the corn starch. I kept adding more and it was just too much broth. Next time I will reduce the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My husband used to call it Shepherd's Poop ... until I made this recipe! Amazing and easy. Just the added curry, beef broth, Worcestershire sauce this makes a full flavored meal. Ketchup isn't even needed! I modified the recipe slightly, by adding 2 lbs of lean ground beef (instead of 1lb), and it was amazing. Will definitely use this as inspiration again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I didn't have curry, but it still had a great flavor. My kids HATE casseroles, so I was prepared to have leftovers for the next day. I was pleasantly surprised when they wanted seconds! As my son says, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Best sheperd's pie recipe I've found. The only different is I sometimes use ground turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
It wasn't as savory as I wanted it to be . . . the mashed potatoes ended up cold because I let them sit around too long while I was prepping the hamburger mixture. Next time I would suggest whipping the potatoes directly AFTER prepping the meat mixture--and then I would recommend broiling for the browness right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
The tomatoes in the directions are not listed in the ingredients. Just FYI ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Whitehead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Quick and easy recipe, I was just hoping that the meat part of it would be a little thicker. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States