Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I have five kids with few individual dislikes...but altogether it's challenging to fit all tastes. I dont like to make casserole-ish type dinners much..but sometimes schedules demand it. AND finding a one-dish recipe WITHOUT cream of this-or-that is difficult. All my kids love this recipe and it's really not all that unhealthy as most casserole-type-dishes tend to be (depending on your meat and how you prepare the potatoes). Admitedly, I reduced the curry, though. I also pile in the veggies and pile on the potatoes. Pretty quick preparation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I love one pot meals and this dish has EVERYTHING in one place! Veggies, meat, carbs... even dairy! It's so delicious and easy to make, especially for busy people like us that don't want to slave over a hot stove after a full day of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmp009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe. I made with instant mash potatoes since for some odd reason my kids prefer them. My mother in-law was skeptical about the meal because we told her it had curry in it, but everyone loved it. I had to almost double the corn starch to get the broth to thicken, and I did read other comments and ended up baking it for 30 minutes prior to broiling. Again, wonderful, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I didn't have any curry on hand, but I used this recipe as the base for a great supper tonight. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NathalieGirard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Great Recipe! I was so happy to find a Shepherds Pie recipe that didn't call for a can of condensed soup (very hard to find where I live). The seemingly random ingredients come together beautifully for a great taste. I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was delicious. Will definitely be making this one again. Also a great way to get the kids to eat veggies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Yum, no need for change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
OMG!! This recipe is great. I did a pan and my husband and I ate it in less than 4 hours. The curry give it a kick. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had our own recipe for the mashed potatoes (apparently it is my husband's secret) and added a little more curry. The flavors were absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I used minced cooked lamb (traditional). This was a great recipe. Very tasty and quick to make. The Worcestershire sauce adds a nice buzz. Great quick dinner from leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I added extra worcestershire sauce to add extra zip. I loved it but my husband doesn't like curry too much so next time I will reduce the amount of curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States