Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This Rock's - I increased the serving size by 50% and my boys (17 & 13) each ate 3 helpings. I'll have to double the recipe next time so we have leftovers :) I didn't have a red pepper but I had some leftover sauted peppers and onions I threw in with a can of mushrooms. Fantastic fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES1031

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Okay, Shane didn't eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
YUMMMM!! But the mashed potato was too thick so I added more milk and a scoop of sour cream and a scoop of cottage cheese! I also used fresh carrots and I didn't have bell pepper so I put half a head of broccoli. Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing, I would have never thought to put curry, soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce in one recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I love this recipe. We omit the carrots and peas and sometime substitute the curry for half the cayenne for just a little more kick but nothing beats this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful. The flavor was fantastic. Don't be afraid of the curry. I don't care for curry normally and I was hesitatnt to add it, but I am so glad I did. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I love this recipe. The soy sauce, worcestershire, ketchup, and curry give the meat a wonderful flavor. I've made a couple slight variations that, for me personally, bump the recipe into 5 star range. Instead of using frozen veggies in the recipe, I use fresh ones and steam/salt them prior to layering them over the ground beef rather than mixing them in with the ground beef (this just seems to give the dish a little more texture, which I like). Instead of using cornstarch, I used quite a bit of flour, as I thought the ground beef slightly too runny to hold up. SO YUMMY. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Great comfort food without being boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe is very good. We made it for a dinner party and decided to make a few changes based on other peoples comments. First, we upped the amount of potato (doubled it) to have enough for a nice thick layer. We also added sour cream and chives to the potato to give it a little extra kick. We also used nearly 2 teaspoons of curry powder and added 1/4 cup of red wine. This gave it a nice rich flavor! We loved it and our friends did too. It paired excellently with some yummy garlic bread and a nice side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is a good base recipe. I realize that seasoning is always a personal taste, but given the recipe name and ingredients, I was expecting a little more "zip" out of it. I taste-tested at various stages and found that it needed quite a bit more help - additional Worcestershire and some freshly ground Italian seasoning help. Also, for the amount of liquid, including that from the frozen vegetables and fresh tomatoes, one TBSP of cornstarch didn't really provide a lot of thickening. When I make this again I'll add more to make it closer to a gravy consistency. Overall though this is good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I love this so much. It is easy, flexible and always a family pleaser. I don't think you can mess it up. I usually use veggie crumbles or tempeh but this time I actually mashed up some veggie meat balls because that is what I had on hand and it worked out well. I usually use a frozen veggies mix with peas, carrots, and corn because I usually have that on hand and the corn is great in it. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and veggie broth instead of beef. I skip the bell pepper beacause I don't think I'd like bell pepper in something like this. You can use regular curry powder or hot curry powder and even add cayanne pepper to heat it up more. How can you go wrong with this? Just tailor it to your tastes and what you have on hand. If you like mashed potatoes, curries, cheese, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States