Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made extra potatoes, because I love mashed potatoes! Also, I used red pepper flakes and extra worcestershire sauce in the beef mixture. Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Very yummy! Like others, I prefer fresh veg to canned or frozen. I added steamed fresh green beans, and for the ground beef, I put chunks of a mid-quality steak in the food processor. Very nice comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So good! Will make again for sure!!! Good home cooking right here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My family loved it. Did not add curry because it's not our favorite spice. Put vegetables in food processor to finely chop and not sure if that caused it to have quite a bit of liquid. Cooked it down a little longer than suggested. End result, a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Browning the crumbled meat prior to topping with potatoes is definitely a new method from the original recipes of Shepard pie meatloaf style. I've made recipes both ways and both are good. My family liked the gravy with this recipe. Making it meatloaf style there isn't gravy unless you make it seperately.I will be making this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Just OK but too many ingredients. Also, a true shepherd's pie is made with lamb, a cottage pie is g/beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
We liked this dish but felt it was a little bland. Added ketchup to the finished product which made it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I made some alterations of my own but I thought this was overall a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This recipe needed a lot of work to make it edible. First, there was at least twice as much broth as needed. It was very soup-like and I had to add more and more cornstarch. It was way too much 'gravy' and I had to drain most of the liquid. And I couldn't taste any of the seasonings so had to add more of everything to build any flavor into the dish. Also 1 lb. of potatoes is like one large russet potato - not enough to even cover the meat, so I had to double (or more) the potatoes. I like shepherd's pie but this recipe wasn't properly vetted... prepare to make a lot of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States