Zippy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
The pie was relatively easy to make, but I think it could have used tomato sauce instead of chopped tomatoes, and I'm not sure about using the mild curry. I liked it all right, but it's not my favorite, and my husband was not impressed. I'll have to try it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent - added a smokey BBQ sauce and corn which made this southwest style- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was an awesome, brought to a dinner and everyone raved about it. I think the curry powder is the key. I would probably tweek depending on what ingredients available- made with corn, peas and red, orange and yellow peppers. I will definitely make again. Did have to use more potatoes to cover the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was the first time making this dish and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Ok - I didn't use the curry, but only because my family doesn't like curry. I did everything else as written, and the result was amazing! My kids went back for more until it was gone. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Loved it. My wife and guests also loved it. Made it for the first time tonight. I made extra because I thought it wouldn't be enough but turned out to be lots. I am not a big curry fan so I didn't use a lot of it but will try again with the full amount to see which I like better. I changed the way to thicken it up. In stead of cornstarch I added about 2 Tbls of flour to the meat mixture after draining all the excess fat and mixed in well as the meat was cooking. Then I added the beef broth slowly till I thought I had enough gravy. I did use a whole can because I did make an extra large batch. I also put cream corn on top of the meat mixture and as I am a big potato fan I use a lot of potatoes. After placing it all in the casserole dish I put in in the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes then turned on the broiler and added the cheese. It seemed to work well for me as I do love it to be hot out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Absolutely loved the recipe but added an extra tablespoon of curry powder and less beef broth. The whole family liked it, too, including a 15 month old that devoured it. Thanks so much for the recipe, a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love. It's the comfort food I was looking for. I love curry, so I just had to try it in Shepherd's pie. I also added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmac
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was so good. One change I made was adding corn, and adding more potatoes. This came out so good. Also in the potatoes I used cream cheese. I think it added something. Very surprised to how good it came out. Not very quick to make, but still pretty quick. Way too much beef broth, took a long time to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States