Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I used homemade turkey breakfast sausage, Texas Toast croutons and one can evaporated milk (I don't keep half-n-half on hand). I added a teaspoon garlic powder and a touch Frank's Hot Sauce to the egg mixture. This was very tasty though quite greasy. I'd make this again but I would cut the cheese back by half. I served this casserole with homemade biscuits and Parmesan potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I tried this recipe because the dish is prepared the day before and baked the next morning. I did not have pepperjack cheese, so just increased the amount of other cheeses (wasn't worried about the amount of "zip"). Everyone really liked the dish - it was a big hit and quickly eaten - a lot of requests for the recipe. I gave it only 4 stars because there's a definite problem with the bake time and/or oven temp. After the time indicated, it was still raw in the center. As it continued to bake, it got a little too brown/crusty along the edges. When I make this again, I'll experiment and try it at 325 for a longer time OR maybe take it out of the fridge for 30 minutes before baking. Someone who requested the recipe from me made it and had the same problem. ****UPDATE**** Made this again, but took it out of the fridge and let it sit for 30 minutes before putting it in a 350 oven. Baked for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is a very satifying recipe! I have used frozen shredded potatoes instead of the bread with terrific results. The pepper-jack cheese is what makes this recipe special. Thanks, Jeanie Bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
We all thought this was very good!! I used more croutons than required, plus they were unseasoned, used bacon instead of sausage (only because I didn't have any available) and added some chopped green bell peppers (1/2 cup) and green onions (1/4 cup). Also, since I only had dry mustard (not "hot") I added 2 drops of hot sauce in. Perfect amt of kick and taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is ALWAYS a hit! It is better than all the other "overnight" egg & sausage casseroles. I think what makes it special is the use of the seasoned croutons instead of bread. I don't change a thing! Yummmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Yum!! Just made this for an office breakfast and everyone went crazy for it. It's a tad spicy, but the crowd likes spicy. I followed recipe exactly except I used crumbled bacon instead of sausage - it worked just fine. Baked uncovered for 55 minutes and it browned beautifully, and came out super moist. This one is a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
If you wanted, you could top with salsa, sour cream, and even green onions and green olives. It would lend itself to that as well. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I have made this casserole many times, for work and for family. It is very, very delicious and always a hit. I have made one adjustment. Instead of the croutons, I cooked shredded hash brown potatoes until they are very crispy and use them as the base for my dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I've been making this recipe for about a year and it's always a hit. I have substituted Cheddar cheese and Monterey Jack for Swiss and Pepperjack and it has turned out wonderful. Also, you can substitute ham for sausage--also very delicous. This is one of my recipes for my left-over Christmas ham--Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Made this for a breakfast that hosted over 100 people. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States