Zippy Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Served this the first time on Christmas morning and the whole family loved it. Everyone wanted the recipe and now whenever we have a family sleepover we have this for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a big hit with my family for Easter brunch, and on many occasions since! Using the croutons as a base layer is brilliant. The last couple times I've made this recipe I've modified it by adding some cubed cream cheese into the cheese layer, which makes it extra creamy and is a nice balance to the sharpness of the other cheese. I also kick it up with some cayenne pepper and fresh ground black pepper. These modifications easily take this up to a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was great! Next time, I'll add a can of green chile peppers to the top, stronger cheeses and ceasar croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Just served this casserole for brunch this morning and what a hit! It was devoured in no time flat and everyone wanted the recipe. I was skeptical about making it (croutons?) but they made an amazing base for the casserole. I added some Canadian bacon along with the sausage, and like a previous reviewer, let the casserole sit out for about 20 minutes while the oven was preheating--60 minutes bake time and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've made this several times now for various gatherings and it is always a hit. I use diced ham and green peppers in place of the sausage. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I thought the crouton flavor was too strong and the dish wasn't spicy at all. I prefer breakfast casseroles with a hash brown or crescent roll base, rather than croutons. It wasn't horrible, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Love it! Love it! Love it! I've made this many times. Has become a family favorite for Christmas morning. I also made it for a 4th grade "breakfast feast" The kids loved it- good thing I made two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Good wasn't just the best ever though. You will be surprised that you cannot taste the croutons like you would think. I had it once and froze the rest.....it didn't taste as good after frozen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Great recipe - a favorite everywhere we go. This recipe is requested from my husband's employees for this years' Christmas brunch. Made the casserole exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Delicious... This is the most requested breakfast when we have company overnight. It has also gone over very well at work brunches. I always use the Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States